Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
93 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hi everyone,

I'm a newbie here & very limited computer skill except whatever learned in the office,just yesterday I've assembled a HTPC for use for my newly acquired used NEC PG9 pj as my Philips progressive dvd player only has outputs for s-video,composite & component but not RGBHV. I'm not satisfied with the s-video PQ.The PC consist AMD Athlon XP 1700, Gigabyte mobo,256mb DDR, ATI radeon 9000,Pioneer DVD. The above system was selected from recomendations in the HTPC forums.I'm using the PowerDVD driver which come with the mobo & I've zero knowledge of other drivers except names mentioned like Theater Tek, Zoomplayer etc.

As I'm only planning to use 2 channel stereo for my HT(to hook up to hi-fi DAC),I did not install any sound card after hearing various comments of the pros & cons & also to keep things simple.I was wondering is it possible to connect the digital output directly from the dvd digital socket(2 pin) to a modified cable with a RCA/BNC connector at the other end? will it work?will the output be just plain PCM & NOT DD or DTS.

I know there will be a lot of trial & error to configure the most appropriate system & will most appreciate all the advise from all the forerunners. I'm sure that I'm moving in the right direction to PG bliss.

Thanks

ps: some of the hardware/software are not readily available here in Malysia eg: the Philips dynamic edge card which had been mentioned & recommended by others

·
Registered
687 Posts
The DVD drive won't decode the audio streams that are on the disc. A few discs (mostly music videos) have PCM soundtracks, but mostly you'll be getting Dolby Digital or DTS.

You'll need to get a sound card and use a software DVD player to decode the Dolby Digital or DTS stream and output it through an S/PDIF connection to your DAC.

--

Steve

·
Registered
93 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks Steve for your speedy advise.