AVS Forum banner

2701 - 2720 of 4669 Posts

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
10,031 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2,701 · (Edited)
JVC Control with MadVR part 1

Here is a quick How To regarding selecting the relevant calibration in the JVC from MadVR.

This is part 1, I'll post more information regarding the best calibration settings especially when using MadVR's HDR to SDR conversion when I have the time.

I used Stanger89's code from Arve's tool as a starting point to create a python file and a batch file for each user mode [EDIT 20-01-18: now a single batch file with the user mode as an argument]. All the details are in the PDF in the attached ZIP.

With these, you can ask MadVR to select a specific SDR-BT2020 calibration in the projector when playing HDR BT2020 content using its pixel shader math HDR to SDR conversion, and select the SDR REC709 calibration when SDR content is next played. [EDIT 20-01-18: the external command implementation is still flaky in MadVR, but hopefully this will be corrected soon).] [EDIT 18-04-18: this is now fixed in V1.3]

This is NOT a step-by-step guide for newbies. It's just to share the knowledge with advanced users so they can help others and make a guide for newbies if they have the time and inclination.

I won't have the time to provide support for this, but it's probably better to keep the discussion in this thread so that we don't hijack the owner's thread with technical posts.

I wrote this very quickly, so please forgive typos etc.

Changelog:

V1.1 Jan-18-2018
  • Minor cosmetic correction in JVC_USER5.PY for all models
  • Added support and extended timeout value from 5 to 15 seconds for DLA-X770R, X7500, RS520, X970R, X9500, RS620 in jvc_command.py.
V1.2 Jan-20-2018
  • Created a unique JVC_COMMAND.BAT accepting the user mode as an argument so there is only one batch file to edit. Syntax is, for example to select the USER1 calibration: JVC_COMMAND.BAT USER1. It accepts any user mode as argument (USER1-6).
  • Corrections to documentation, change of custom profiles (now using the calibration tab to make it possible to select different calibration settings for HDR and SDR) and external commands and new screenshots.
V1.3 Apr-18-2018
  • Added a delay in the JVC_COMMAND.BAT file to make sure the command isn’t sent while the JVC is performing an HDMI sync. Set by default to 20 seconds, feel free to adjust it. 15-18 secs should work fine for most, but with anything lower than that some commands might get lost. Others might need up to 25 secs. This is similar to the delay implemented on the Vertex.
  • Minor corrections to the documentation.
 

Attachments

·
Registered
Joined
·
41 Posts
I am not an expert in what the best bang for the buck or easiest or most accurate tools are. Personally I use a ColorMunki + HCFR because that is what I already had on hand.

If I was to start from scratch, I'd probably buy a Calman package.

But I am far from an expert in what is easiest or best or the best value.
I was thinking of going with Calman software the i1displayPro which Spyder do I need the 4 or 5 and which version I am doing a JVC x550r


Thanks
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
191 Posts
I will definately update you with the results and I super appreciate you taking the time to respond. Thanks again!

Keith
Once you connect your projector to your router with an Ethernet cable, it will work. You could move the router to the theater room for an hour. :p

If it helps, made a guide for importing premade curves here. The steps should very similar for you (Steps 4-7 should work for you, perhaps a minor difference in the software layout).

Let us know how it goes!

I do have a Wi-Fi Extender in my theater room, I wonder if I can plug into the Ethernet port on it...I will try it and post the results.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
9,181 Posts
Here is a quick How To regarding selecting the relevant calibration in the JVC from MadVR.

This is part 1, I'll post more information regarding the best calibration settings especially when using MadVR's HDR to SDR conversion when I have the time.

I used Stanger89's code from Arve's tool as a starting point to create a python file and a batch file for each user mode. All the details are in the PDF in the attached ZIP.

With these, you can ask MadVR to select a specific calibration in the projector when playing SDR BT2020 content using its excellent pixel shader math HDR to SDR conversion (see JVC 2015 owner thread for details), and select the SDR calibration once the HDR content is played.

This is NOT a step-by-step guide for newbies. It's just to share the knowledge with advanced users so they can help others and make a guide for newbies if they have the time and inclination.

I won't have the time to provide support for this, but it's probably better to keep the discussion in this thread so that we don't hijack the owner's thread with technical posts.

I wrote this very quickly, so please forgive typos etc.
Thanks.

Manni FYI, User 5.py prints user 1 not user 5 to the screen in the code.

To others, this doesn't work with the later JVC models besides the XX00 series due to a model number mismatch in Arves code. Right now I am getting an unknown model error. I did some digging and was able to fix it. You need to have the command prompt open to see the unknown model number error in order to find out the model number of the projector, once I had that I went into jvc_command.py and edited the following code lines to include the newer model, so those of you with a JVC model later than the RS600/9000 series you will need to do this, those with the RS640/9900 series will either need to let me know your model number you are getting in command prompt or edit the code yourself to add a new line once again with your model.

'ILAFPJ -- XHR3' is the model number for the RS620/9900 year model projector line. And there is only one model number for the entire line that year, so people with the RS640 and 9900 you will need to attempt to run the batch file inside a command prompt window to find out what your model number is when you see the error and add the new line.

Code:
class Model(ReadOnly, Enum):
    """Projector model code"""
    DLA_X550R_X5000_XC5890R_RS400 = b'ILAFPJ -- XHP1'
    DLA_XC6890 = b'ILAFPJ -- XHP2'
    DLA_X750R_X7000_XC7890R_RS500_X950R_X9000_RS600_PX1 = b'ILAFPJ -- XHP3'
   [B] DLA_X770R_X7500_RS520_X970R_X9500_RS620_PX1 = b'ILAFPJ -- XHR3'[/B]
Save the file, you will now have your model recognised and the picture mode switching will work. P.S there is no user 6 on the newer models either, so I reccomend you just delete those user mode files as they will do nothing.

Now to fix the time out issue reported by manni for selecting picture modes, notably those which include the filter then switching to a mode which does not include the filter, we need to increase the timeout from 5 seconds to 15 seconds in the same jvc_command.py file.

For me, once I had included the new line with my model number, you will need to edit the following value to 15 (in bold). starting at line 561 in the code.

Or more simply, You can just search the file for the term timeout and you should be in the right place.

Code:
def set(self, cmd, val, verify=True):
        """Send operation command"""
        cmdcode, valtype = cmd.value
        assert not issubclass(valtype, ReadOnly), '{} is a read only command'.format(cmd)
        val = valtype(val)
        assert(isinstance(val, valtype)), '{} is not {}'.format(val, valtype)
        try:
            if issubclass(valtype, BinaryData):
                self.conn.cmd_op(cmdcode, sendrawdata=val.value)
            else:
                self.conn.cmd_op(cmdcode+val.value, [B]acktimeout=15[/B])
        except CommandNack as err:
            raise CommandNack('Set: ' + err.args[0], cmd.name, val)

        if not verify or issubclass(valtype, NoVerify):
            return

        verify_val = self.get(cmd)
        if verify_val != val:
            raise CommandNack('Verify error: ' + cmd.name, val, verify_val)
Save again, and all should be well. Mode switching should no longer throw errors.

p.s. There also seems to be a bug with 0.92.11 where for some people the 'Command line to execute when this profile is activated' does not work, unfortunately its not working for me either. Some others may experience the same thing.

There is a bug submitted by another user here: http://bugs.madshi.net/view.php?id=210

I also did download the test build submitted by @madshi on that link, but its still not working for me, it wont even open a text document on my desktop. So I will patiently wait for madshi to resolve it.

I guess I could roll back and see if an earlier version works.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
108 Posts
Hi,

I've been reading in this forum for a long time, especially about the ARVE tool. But this is my first post here.

Last summer while a calibration workshop I met a nice guy from switzerland who showed me the ARVE Tool and helped me with the custom curves.

Then I saw a thread about madVR and the upscaling of Blurays für 4K on facebook from Anna&Flo. Since December I can play 4k content with dynamic HDR.

I made a lot of comparison to my gamma curves and I am as enthusiastic as Manni !

I calibarated my JVC RS-500 to BT.2020. My madVR goes out with BT.2020 Gamma 2.2 12 Bit RGB 4:4:4, no matter what source I have (if it is 24p).
I never have to switch user modes in the jvc. And a great advantage : I don't have the long black screen the jvc's have when you switch modes.

I wrote a short introduction in madVR in german : www . partyfotos . de / madVR /

Greetings from Germany

Bernd
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
10,031 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2,706 · (Edited)
Hi,

I've been reading in this forum for a long time, especially about the ARVE tool. But this is my first post here.

Last summer while a calibration workshop I met a nice guy from switzerland who showed me the ARVE Tool and helped me with the custom curves.

Then I saw a thread about madVR and the upscaling of Blurays für 4K on facebook from Anna&Flo. Since December I can play 4k content with dynamic HDR.

I made a lot of comparison to my gamma curves and I am as enthusiastic as Manni !

I calibarated my JVC RS-500 to BT.2020. My madVR goes out with BT.2020 Gamma 2.2 12 Bit RGB 4:4:4, no matter what source I have (if it is 24p).
I never have to switch user modes in the jvc. And a great advantage : I don't have the long black screen the jvc's have when you switch modes.

I wrote a short introduction in madVR in german : www . partyfotos . de / madVR /

Greetings from Germany

Bernd
Yes but unless you have less than 50nits actual PeakY you are compromising SDR for HDR, or HDR for SDR if you keep the same BT2020 calibration for SDR and HDR. You need to select a different baseline for each otherwise you are raising the black floor and killing your on/off contrast in SDR if you use the best calibration for HDR (high lamp, iris open, filter on), or you are killing the highlights in HDR if you are using the best calibration for SDR (lowest iris setting to get 50nits, usually low lamp, no filter).

It works great if you don't mind the compromise.

I'll soon post recommendations to get the best for all content, based on the JVC control posted here.

I've updated it to V1.1:

Changelog:

V1.1 Jan-18-2018: minor cosmetic correction in JVC_USER5.py, added support and extended timeout value for more recent models. The issue with MadVR not sending the command on exit is still there, included with the latest test build. I have no problems with the commands when I launch the .bat files directly, or if I send them in MadVR on start-up. It's only from MadVR that the batch that should run on exit doesn't run. Will investigate in MadVR's thread and update here when fixed. Full change log in the PDF. There is no need to update from V1.0 to V1.1 if you don't have a more recent model.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
9,181 Posts
I narrowed down the issue to Kodi not being able to execute python scripts, no matter how many .bat files its buried under at the end of the day its still the Kodi app which is executing them, it seems because Kodi has its own Python installation, it seems to be attempting to run it from that and its encountering errors.

One I figured out to chain bat files thanks to @madshi for troubleshooting if MadVR was the cause (it is not) then I finally got some dos output on what's actually going on.



Still troubleshooting this, but I am assuming this issue is going to affect all Kodi users attempting to do these MadVR user mode switching scripts.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
8,222 Posts
It's probably a matter of PATH settings or something like that. If you figure it out, you should be able to fix it by manually setting the PATH (or some other SET variable), working directory etc in the batch file before running the python file. Or alternatively do "C:\CorrectPythonPath\python.exe some.py" to force the right python version to be used.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
10,031 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2,709 · (Edited)
It's probably a matter of PATH settings or something like that. If you figure it out, you should be able to fix it by manually setting the PATH (or some other SET variable), working directory etc in the batch file before running the python file. Or alternatively do "C:\CorrectPythonPath\python.exe some.py" to force the right python version to be used.
Hi Madshi,

I was about to post in the MadVR thread but let's do it here if you prefer.

No it's not a path issue, at least here.

I've done more testing with the external commands, using only MPC-BE to rule out possible issues with MCE/MyMovies.

If I launch my .bat files directly from the desktop, they all run fine.

If I launch them from the external command when the profile is enabled, they run fine too.

If I swap the one that should run when the profile is disabled with the one that runs fine when the profile is enabled, it runs fine too.

So as far as I can see, the external command works fine when the profile is enabled, but not when the profile is disabled.

I always add a pause command to batch files when I do testing, and as far as I can see there is no command file launched at all on profile disable.

I tried the test build and it doesn't change anything.

I'm not sure this calibration thread is the best place to discuss this, so please let me know where you'd like to take the discussion.

Thanks!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
8,222 Posts
Probably it's out of topic here, so doom9 might be a better place, at least for you because you have an active doom9 account. Not sure if Javs is on doom9. In any case your issue sounds to be a completely different one to the one Javs has.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
9,181 Posts
It's probably a matter of PATH settings or something like that. If you figure it out, you should be able to fix it by manually setting the PATH (or some other SET variable), working directory etc in the batch file before running the python file. Or alternatively do "C:\CorrectPythonPath\python.exe some.py" to force the right python version to be used.
Thanks, yeah I tried forcing the correct python exe to run it, but still the same problem. No matter, its not MadVR's fault, so I will try and continue to troubleshoot the problem on my end and report back here when I have a solution.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
10,031 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2,712 ·
Probably it's out of topic here, so doom9 might be a better place, at least for you because you have an active doom9 account. Not sure if Javs is on doom9. In any case your issue sounds to be a completely different one to the one Javs has.
Yes, but Javs was conflating the issues and as I have already mentioned my separate issue in Doom9 yesterday I didn't want you to think it was the same. Do you want me to re-post in Doom9, or will you simply reply there?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
108 Posts
Yes but unless you have less than 50nits actual PeakY you are compromising SDR for HDR, or HDR for SDR if you keep the same BT2020 calibration for SDR and HDR. You need to select a different baseline for each otherwise you are raising the black floor and killing your on/off contrast in SDR if you use the best calibration for HDR (high lamp, iris open, filter on), or you are killing the highlights in HDR if you are using the best calibration for SDR (lowest iris setting to get 50nits, usually low lamp, no filter). It works great if you don't mind the compromise.[/URL].

I am beginner in beamer and calibration. My HTPC can show 4K content since one week and without dropped frames since yesterday !

I play SDR and HDR content with low lamp, auto iris and with DCI filter. But now I will start to optimize the whole system.

I look forward with great expectation to your recommendations for the settings to get the best for all content.

One more wish I have : While playing SDR content I would like to spread green and red over 75% in the BT2020 color space. Like Sony is doing this with XDR and Samsung with HDR Plus.
And like JVC's Picture Mode "Normal".

Bernd
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
143 Posts
Hi Manni, please, can you attach the latest versions of the premade gamma curves? Yours and those of Dominic and the differences between each of them. Thanks
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
10,031 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2,716 ·
Hi Manni, please, can you attach the latest versions of the premade gamma curves? Yours and those of Dominic and the differences between each of them. Thanks
No, sorry, not spending time with custom curves anymore, too much to do with MadVR and not enough time. Check the links in the first post.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
10,031 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2,717 ·
Solved the issue with MadVR on custom profile disabled, will explain in next version when I post a revision but the gist is that the command on disable in only launched when the content changes, i.e. when you start another video calling a different profile. It makes sense and it means the Vertex should pick up the change the next time content is played if not HDR. It's just not possible to get SDR 709 back for the interface after playback of the HDR title. No big deal. Moving on to calibration/settings now that it's possible to call the correct calibration automatically.

I've asked Madshi to see if he could find a way to use a custom API to report SDR BT2020 so that the Vertex can pick it up and we wouldn't need the JVC Control from MadVR at all if we have a Vertex. This would be better for iRule users (or anyone using IP control to control the JVC, as this is not compatible with MadVR IP control in parallel) who are forced to use a universal IR remote (as RS-232 is used by the Vertex).
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
10,433 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
360 Posts
All, couple questions for the experts.

1) Looking at getting a vertex shortly. Any specific USB to serial/DB9/RS232 cable or do most work? Local shop has them so was hoping to pick one up (if HD Fury doesn't include)

2) Am following all these threads with custom curves, using Arve's tool, JVC Autocal etc. Am getting more informed and appreciate everyone's input on these forums. With the latest news from Manni, I am intrigued and looking at my options. I have ATV4k as main source for movies/TV, etc. Works very well into my Denon AVR and then to JVC but thinking about this MadVR, Oppo component as a video processor. Given I will be watching 95% of my content from ATV4k, will the input on the Oppo 203 or 205 allow me to have the Oppo do video processing to the correct BT2390 (when firmware available) and all the correct processing to get the best HDR picture possible? What other options do I have for ATV4k input using MadVR? Any?

Thanks all!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
12,749 Posts
Given I will be watching 95% of my content from ATV4k, will the input on the Oppo 203 or 205 allow me to have the Oppo do video processing to the correct BT2390 (when firmware available) and all the correct processing to get the best HDR picture possible? What other options do I have for ATV4k input using MadVR? Any?

Thanks all!
We don't know yet since the Oppo firmware with the improved HDR>SDR2020 tone mapping is not available, but in the Oppo thread there is a consensus that currently feeding an HDR10 source into the Oppo allows the Oppo to map to their present SDR2020 output just fine, so the hypothesis is that it will be able to apply any improvements to that tone mapping to external HDR10 sources, as well.

If so, and if the results are as good as Kris implies, I may be getting an Oppo 203 (again -- I bought it the week it came out but once we don't custom HDR curves on the JVC, it was overkill, and I replaced it with a Sony UHD player) since half of my HDR viewing is with the ATV4K as well.
 
2701 - 2720 of 4669 Posts
Top