AVS Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm considering the JVC RS20/HD750 or the Avielo Spectra for my new home theater. My home theater will have a 114"-120" wide cinemascope screen (probably a Stewart StudioTek-130) and the projector is going to be ceiling mounted with a panamorph anamorphic lens sled setup (at around 16 ft back from the screen). The HT room is about 18 ft. deep in length.

I was considering to get the JVC RS20 based on all the reviews I've read on-line but my AV integrator suggest that I look at the Avielo Spectra because it provides a brighter picture that would fit the screen size I'm considering. I've look at a demo of the Avielo Spectra at the AV Integrator showroom on a 110" cinemascope wide screen and it does look pretty good from a brightness, dark level and color perspective but I'm relatively new to this. The AV Integrator had a JVC HD100 on a 92" diagonal in their showroom that I also look at. The JVC HD100 pictures looks good but it wasn't as bright as the Spectra and it didn't give that "wow" factor when you first see it - maybe because I saw the Spectra on a much larger screen first. I haven't actually seen a direct comparison of the RS20 vs Spectra in any reviews and in person yet.

The prices for the RS20 versus the Spectra is about $3.5K ($7500 vs $11K). So this is a big decision and I need your expert advise to help me decide. Has anyone look at the Spectra vs the RS20? How do they compare?

Thanks for your help.

·
Registered
1,240 Posts
I haven't seen the Spectra in person but just read a comment in a Swedish forum by a very reliable person who did a side-by-side. According to him the Spectra wins in everything except the absolute black level in very dark scenes.

Take it for what it's worth.

I would try to demo them side by side before I make the plunge. It's quite a lot of money...