AVS Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

I'm new to this but have a questions I can't find the answer to. Anywhere. Any AV genius on here with the answer?

I am just about to start screening films as part of a small independent cinema. We're learning over time and building up our gear over time.

Here's the issue we are facing. We are using a denon an av 500 connected to multiple sources. The two in particular are an oppo 103D blu ray and MacBook both thought HDMI.

These are connected to two different HDMI inputs let's say 1 & 2.

We are using the MacBook for trailers of up and coming films, advertisements, selected shorts etc. the blue ray is used for the actual feature film.

When we switch between HDMI sources we are having signal loss, hand shake issues then projector finds the signal then source is switched. This is ok but not at all smooth and professional. We would like to switch between sources without the projector loosing the signal.

This is not my area but I assume there is some sort of mixer or switch with 'channels' rather than separate sources that could solve the problem. So the mixer keeps a constant signal with the device and you would switch or fade between sources to be displayed. This way the signal between HDMI and projector would not be lost.

Ideally we would look at editing and producing each film but don't have the capacity or luxury of doing this so looking for a work around to stop the signal from dropping when moving between sources.

Any ideas?

·
Registered
29 Posts
What you want exists, but it's not cheap. You're looking at something like a Kramer VP-728 (they have multiple models with similar features, and there are others from other manufacturers). As you say, the trick is to keep a constant signal going on the output rather than just switching the input signal through.

You can search online for "glitch free hdmi switch".

·
Registered
445 Posts