AVS Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a newbie with limited options to audition speakers due to my location. I'm looking for some floorstanding speakers to be the heart of a 5.1 system (75% music, 25% tv/movies) for a large 20x24 room. My main concern is handling diverse blend of music; HT sound is secondary.

At Tweeter (which we do have) I listened to and liked the Polk LSi15s ($1500/pr) but am struggling with the budget, especially since these are 4 ohm speakers requiring a separate amp/pre-amp. (One possibility would be to go down to the LSi 9s and rely on the sub to fill the gap.)

I now have an opportunity to hear some KEF iQ9's ($1200/pr), which are cheaper and easier to power. Of course, I'm going to go hear them and make up my own mind, but I'm curious if anyone's done this comparison.

--Do you think these speakers are in the same league in trems of quality/value?

--Do KEF's have a distinctive "sound"? Are they known for particular strengths/weaknesses?

·
Registered
856 Posts
IMO, I thought the Polk LSi's are night and day from their other speakers. TBH, I hate Polk speakers....except the LSis, which I think sound really good. I am a fan of the British sound as I really like KEF, B&W, etc. I would probably go with the KEF if it were me. But you must choose what sounds best to you. If there are not many B&M stores in your are to audition, maybe post a reply in the KEF thread about people in your area who may have both speakers. Honestly, either choice you will be happy with. But since I have heard both, I lean towards the KEF personally. If this makes the decision harder i apologize...next step...wallet size. LSI 15s go for ~1800-1900/pr. So maybe the KEFs will fit the bill better too...I hope this helps.

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tawaun da bomb /forum/post/0