AVS Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I am new to Home Theater, brand spanking new.

I have purchased a Onkyo TX-NR709 and Kef T205 speaker system. It is composed of (2) T101 speakers and (2) T301 speakers plus a center and subwoofer.

3 speakers will be mounted on stands , the 4th will be mounted on the included desk stand setting on a horizontal surface. They will all be the same height. The room is not dedicated to home theater.

My question is which of the speakers T101 or T301 should be front and which should be rear.

Any guidance would be appreciated.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for your input SikOne,

I absolutely love the NR709 and the T205 system. I did listen to several different systems; all were in a dedicated Home Theater environment or Best Buy. I chose the Kef system based on research and how it sounded to me. Looks aren't bad either.

Basement is unfinished so I have great access to make a neat installation.

The T2 subwoofer does not come with a RCA or S/PDIF cable. I ordered a S/PDIF cable, wall plates and patch cables.

For the speakers I used 10 gauge speaker cable, RCA banana plugs and wall plates. Some would say gauge is overkill.

·
Banned
2,914 Posts
The KEF T2 doesn't use S/PDIF. On top of that, the NR709 doesn't support S/PDIF subwoofers.

Nobody ever includes one cause they have no idea if you need a 3 foot or a 300 ft one.

Edit...I tend to forget that S/PDIF covers BOTH Tos-link and digital coax.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thanks for the reply Schan. "I know that I know nothing", that is why I ask so many questions.