AVS Forum banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
142 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am in early stages of planning a dedicated theater but also want a great music system for my living room/kitchen area. It is a large open room with vaulted ceilings. I will use this for 5.1 setup but the purpose of this post is to focus on the L/R speakers only. However they do need to be speakers that have a matched center/surrounds available which most have.

I need speaker recommendations. I don't know how to put into words exactly what I am looking for but I'll take a shot at it by saying I'm looking for "high quality party speakers." I'll watch movies and occasionally sit down to listen to 2 channel music, but I mainly am looking for a great entertaining and energetic loudspeaker. I recently sold my Ascend Acoustics Sierra-2's. I loved them but the ribbon tweeter wasn't for me. I am looking for something less laid back. I am new to this hobby and I know I will need to audition as many as I can.

I have been blessed with a new job that has allowed me to look at a higher price point than before. I've been doing a lot of research but the options are overwhelming. Can anyone throw out some suggestions for speakers that can energize a room and get people on their feet to dance but can also provide an intimate 1 on 1 listening session. I should note I am looking for tower speakers and will add a sub or subs if the speakers need them. I really don't know what I want but I'll know it when I hear it. This post is for the speakers only and will focus equipment once I find the speakers I want.

My price range is anywhere from $2000 to maybe $10,000 for L/R speakers only. I'm fine spending less and don't really want to spend that high but if there's something amazing that I fell in love with at that price I'd do it. My wife is on board with this investment since this is something we will use almost everyday of lives.