AVS Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
1,840 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Does anybody know what the legal rules are for DVD viewing? Clearly, a purchased DVD can be viewed at home in a home theater.

In a large (say 20 seats) home theater, several people can view it and I suppose even be charged for it - Certainly there can't be restrictions on whether you know the people or not.

There are some club house home theaters now showing DVDs to club members - Apartment complexes with internal theaters for residents use. If the club house buys the DVD, then rents or provides it for member parties to view, is there a problem?

anybody know the legal rules of engagement?

thanks

ken

·
Registered
588 Posts
I'm not an expert, and I'm certainly not a lawyer, but....

As soon as you start charging admission to view copyrighted material in a theater (whether you term it as home, art-house, club-house, or whatever), you have entered the commercial arena.

I realize that there may be some clubs that have membership fees and then share copyrighted material, but I'm sure there are business laws which address that area as well. Otherwise, people would make clubs for every pseudo-business activity to avoid business and government regulation, contractual obligations, and avoid copyright laws. Short of getting a lawyer to help you understand the business laws regulating this activity, the only suggestion I can give you is to check out the trade magazine that focuses on the film and theater business: BOXOFFICE Magazine

I'm not trying to be a pill, but I think legally there are many pitfalls and obligations involved when charging membership fees or admission to a theater to watch DVD copyrighted material. -Pat

·
Registered
4,129 Posts
I'd have to agree with paddy. Instead, charge a premium for drinks or treats with a minimum consumption policy :D

·
Registered
1,840 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
So are we saying: