Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Banned
1,647 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
...newbie here, be gentle.:confused:

What are the settings for LFE, in db mean?. I understand that it can reduce distortion from very,very,very low frequencies that your speakers may not handle, but, The user guide doesn't explain the difference between the diff db settings, default being zero db. In which direction, db wise, does the suppresion increase??:confused:

·
Registered
6,434 Posts
Most decoders that offer an LFE control allow the user to reduce the level of the LFE channel relative to the other channels. You normally can not increase it.

The default is normally 0dB, which means that the LFE is NOT attenuated. If you want to hear what is on the disc, leave it at 0dB. If for some reason you feel that there is too much bass, and you also feel it is because the LFE track was too loud, you may reduce it by up to -10 dB or so.

There may be some discs that record the bass as part of the main tracks, AND on the LFE. I have a Telarc DVD that implies in the DVD booklet that they do this. In that case, you may want to attenuate the LFE to avoid excessive bass (assuming your bass management is working correctly).

FWIW, this topic delves into the subject of bass management. You could spend weeks on just that subject! And you would probably end out with a major headache.

BGL

·
Registered
5,307 Posts
One must also differentiate between LFE settings and Sub settings.

LFE settings adjust the level of the specifically encoded LFE track on a 5.1 or 6.1 source in relation to the other channels. This should be set a 0db for Dolby Digital, and +10db for DTS dvd. There are a few DTS audio CDs, and these should be set at 0db.