AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 99 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Finally, after lurking around this forum and gathering good information for forever, I decided to give something back to the community. This is my first post, so go easy on me.

I have tried both Samsung 931 and LiteOn LVD-2001 on my Toshiba 50HDX82 RPTV. Samsung 931 was connected using Belkin DVI-D cable, and LVD-2001 was connected via decent quality, non-Monster component cable (I'm a satelite ASIC designer with heavy back ground on RF analysis, so don't even get me started on Monster cable crap). Test DVDs include SW Eps II, Monsters Inc, LOTR: Two Towers, some non-anamorphic DVDs (such as TopGun) and AVIA. Here is some review on both players:

1) What everyone is wondering - 1080i PQ: Both DVD Players produced similar results on AVIA resolution patterns. Both players displayed upto 500 mark without much distortion or loss. 6.75MHz grid looked a bit sharper on Samsung than LiteOn where the individual lines did not overlap with each other as much as LiteOn. This difference is very minor, and compared to non-1080i DVD players difference was quite amazing. Note that I have not owned or seen Fraudja Panasonic/Denon models to really give you a better idea (although I have sampled many different models), but I did see some of the screen shots of the resolution patterns on those players and the output looked noticably (and on some screen shots slightly) better as far as I can tell.