AVS Forum banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
1,541 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I've been using Harmony remotes for 15+ years, so I was initially disappointed they were being discontinued. I say initially because I've since found the URC MX-890 and couldn't be happier.

Tried to go the local dealer route and they quoted MSRP and won't give me the software. That was a hell no for me. Found them on Amazon and Ebay for ~1/2 off retail. You can get 3-year 3rd party warranties for $20-30 if you need that as well. The software is also pretty easy to get.

Feels like going from Lutron's Caseta to full RA2. So many more options and everything can be customized exactly how you want it. I love that each IR hub output is addressable and any button on any remote can be assigned to it. I use one hub for multiple rooms. Never going back to remotes that don't allow 100% customization.

The ergonomics of the Elite are terrific and the MX-890 is the only RF remote I tested that comes close to it.

These are just my opinions, of course:

Harmony Elite

Pros:
  • Fantastic ergonomics, feels really good in the hand.
  • Compact size with no wasted space.
  • Button location and size for streaming devices is pretty much perfect.
  • Modern and clean interface.
  • Very fast processing with virtually no delay from button press to IR signal being sent.
  • Programming is super easy with the iOS or Windows app.

Cons:
  • The damn touchscreen. There's no way to adjust the sensitivity once an activity is started, so I would have accidental presses all the time. Even my laptop power cord barely touching it would activate a button. I also don't have much need for a touchscreen in a remote. I'd only use it to start and activity.
  • Limited customizability.
  • The "Activities" and "Devices" buttons are touch and not actual buttons for no apparent reason. They can't be custimized, so there's no reason they should be touch. Just contributes to more accidental presses.