AVS Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
74 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
(First Post.. be gentle...
)

I was hoping to get to wait until Xmas before I would have to purchase a flat screen for the first time.

But alas, my 14 year old 54 inch RPTV (ProScan RCA) is finally dying (well, actually the second time.. 1st time was about 6 years ago.. paid $800+ dollars to have what I found out later to be a $27 dollar part fixed... but that's another story
)...

I have been researching TVs and reading this forum for a few months now hoping that I had till XMAS to have to make the plunge.. but the TV is really on its last legs now (screen goes randomly dark and crazy every few hours for about 45 minutes at a time).

But anyway.. I ramble... so I have pretty much decided on a Plasma.

(I do have a 1080I CRT 26 inch 16X9 Panasonic in the bed room)

I'm looking for a 58 or 60 inch panel . I'll be sitting about 12ft +/- away in a room with pretty much controlled lighting. I like to watch sports, TV shows, and movies, etc. No gaming on the big TV.. have other TVs for that.

I think I have it narrowed down to a Panasonic or Pioneer. I'm not overly concerned with getting 1080P... unless prices come down alot more than they currently are... was hoping to spend about $3.5 to 4K max.

I went ahead and "stared" at the 58 - 60 inch screens at BB the other day (I understand that they are not set for what my home conditions will be..) but I was surprised by some of the LCDs having a nice crisp picture.

I did see what appeared to be motion blur and "jaggy edges" on the sports scenes on the LCDs. But I also saw alot of "grainy" stuff on the plasmas (depending on the feed).

All the big TVs looked like total crap when they were showing a demo of what was supposed to be the BluRay version of Dirty Dancing

*** I did not adjust any of the TVs ****

I still figured I will go with a Plasma.