AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm looking for high quality 2.1 speakers to connect to my sound card (GameTheater XP). I 95% of the time listen to music.

Please suggest some speakers, i'm looking for really crystal-clear sound. I listen to rock and jazz, if it makes any difference.

I'm willing to spend up to $500-$600, but no more.

I'm a complete newb, and this seems like the best place to ask for advice.

Any input is much appriciated.

Thanks!

·
Registered
923 Posts
Monsoon speaks are really good for music, and I know that they're cheapest set of 2.1s are under $100 retail. You might be able to audition them at a CompUSA (maybe even bring in a portable CD or MP3 player with you and swap out their input cable ;-p). I believe they've got two grades of 2.1 systems, so if you're wanting to spend more, the higher model would likely be a good match for straight PC sound.

Otherwise, I'd mostly steer clear of PC speaker sets. Maybe pick up a cheap receiver and run some real speakers. I'm actually using a subwoofer cannibalized from a Creative Inpire 4.1 set as an amp (I've got the sub level turned to 0 as it sounds like just as much crap as the rest of the Creative line of speakers). I've got a stereo split cable from Radio Shack going from my sound card into the front and rear channel inputs on the sub. Then I've got a pair of 2 RCA male to 1 RCA female adapters that my speaker cables are connected to. The point is to get twice the power of just using the front channel amp. I'm using that to run a pair of huge old Fisher floor standers (that were bequeathed to me), so for a few bucks in cables and pawn shop leavings, I've got decent sound that I can make big if the occassion calls for it.