AVS Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
227 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys, I am a complete newbie on Plasma sets and was looking for a suggestion or two.

I currently have a 42" Toshiba 1080p LCD and I am thinking about switching to a plasma set. 50" is the size I am shooting for. The only catch is that I want to use the best buy deal of no interest for 18 months so the TV must be through them. $1000 is the ball park price I am looking to spend. I heard good things about the Panasonic P50S1 but BB doesn't seem to carry it anymore.

So far the only other set I see that I've been reading about on here is the Samsung 50B550.

http://www.bestbuy.com/site/Televisi...at193400050016

Here's the small amount of plasma's they have available.

·
Registered
5,307 Posts
The PN50B550 is a very nice set. Out of the box it has smoother yet sharper look than the Panny with very good color reproduction (the Panasonic looks very good after a few minor adjustments, primarily lowering of the sharpness control). It will have more of a tendency to develope temporary image retention than the Panasonic and it's processing lag is higher so it's not as good for gaming (won't affect other uses).

You might try actually going to some BB stores in search of the Panny you want, often sets drop off the website before some local stores are completely out of stock.

·
Registered
227 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks a lot for the response! I think I will go to my local Best Buy and see what they have. Gaming actually is important to me, so I'll remember that about the Panasonic.

·
Registered
47 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by booloo /forum/post/18147596

Thanks a lot for the response! I think I will go to my local Best Buy and see what they have. Gaming actually is important to me, so I'll remember that about the Panasonic.

It appears as though the majority of 2009 Panasonics are defective. I would not buy a 2009 Panasonic.

·
Registered
240 Posts

Quote: