AVS Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I had an Onkyo 805 powering a 5.1 system consisting of Axiom M-22's, M3's, vp100, and a Velodyne sc1250 powering a 12" sub. My 805 started to malfunction after an electrical storm. I've just replaced the the 805 with the 807. I knew going in that the 807 did not have the power of the 805 but figured I could get the power elsewhere.

I have never used an amp before, nor know how to configure it whithin the system. I was thinking Emotiva amp but not sure which would be the right one?

The room that I have the system in is 11' x 23'x 9' ceiling.

Any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks.

·
Registered
2,327 Posts
I would suggest taking a look at the Emotiva XPA-5. It's on sale now. It has room for growth in your system in case you get even larger speakers down the road. The UPA-5 is another choice, but it puts out lower wattage compared to the XPA-5. How much do you wan't to spend? Connecting the amp to your Onkyo is easy. Just connect rca's to the pre amp outs on the back of your Onkyo. Then connect your speaker wires to the dedicated amplifier.

·
Registered
2,327 Posts
Most suggest re-running Audyssey after installing the new amplifier into the system. Or re-check your manual calibration if you don't use Audyssey. After installing my dedicated amplifiers I did go into my set up and made some minor changes to my manual calibration.

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I would say the UPA-5 is in the range of what I'd be willing to spend. How do you think that would compare to what the 805 put out. Not sure if you are familiar with it secret.

·
Registered
2,327 Posts