AVS Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a home theater noob. I currently have an LG65EF9500 TV and two Martin Logan Theos ESL floorstanding Speakers.

My room is relatively small, I'd say the first couch is around 6ft from the TV with the second on a platform directly behind it. The floor is rug and it is an enclosed room with one door.

I have the TV and speakers about a 1.5ft from the wall because of the Theos Speakers. I already have several Audioquest Chocolate HDMI Cables and Audioquest speakerwire so essentially the remaining pieces I need before I work on decor are:

Receiver
Subwoofer
Center Channel
Two more speakers to complete the 5.1

I have my PC connected to the TV for 4k gaming (SLI 980tis) and I use it as my bluray player as well. Once I figure out the parts I will tackle the seemingly impossible cable hiding that I'm going to have :)

I hope that painted a good enough picture for some recommendations. The reason I went with the Martin Logans is because my jaw dropped when I heard them for the first time and they're absolutely beautiful. I like the aesthetics of them almost as much as I like the sound. I love the signature they reproduce. My remaining budget is flexible. Anything up to around $10k is fine. I'm not planning on buying this all at once. I figured start with a baller 2.1 system and then slowly build into 5.1 and then 7.1. Priority would be receiver and sub.

·
Registered
16,705 Posts
Nice speakers! I'm sure you are really enjoying them :)

For a receiver, I would recommend a higher model Denon or Marantz that has Audyssey XT32 SUB EQ HT. Using the included microphone, Audyssey will take measurements of the sound at the primary listening position and provide EQ filters to help smooth the response of the speakers and sub(s). SUB EQ HT can EQ two different subs separately (unlike most room EQ), which is a plus since subs often need more help than the speakers.