AVS Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
981 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I haven't had a lot of luck posting in other people's threads, but I notice people seem to get good responses to individual postings. I'm a newbie here and I've apparently earned the "thread starter" letter of shame...but here goes anyway.

I'm looking for a 60" screen on which to watch movies, Bluray and regular DVD. I'm not interested in 3D. I don't play video games. I care a lot about screen fidelity, i.e. black levels, color fidelity, brightness, and am sensitive to things like uneveness, e.g. clouding from edge-lit LEDs. For now, I don't care much about features like wi-fi, Netflix, etc., although it would be nice to have these for future-proofing purposes. I don't have strong opinions about LCD versus plasma (I know plenty of folks here do).

Ideally I'd spend $1K but I'm willing to push that upward a bit, though not past $1500. What TVs should be on my radar? My general impressions...

- Sharp non-Quattron LCDs seem to be well regarded and in my price range, with the caveat that edge-lit LEDs lead to some flashlighting and maybe clouding. Quattron are probably pushing my price range and get mixed to negative reviews on the extra yellow pixel.

- Samsung LCDs seem to get more negative reviews due to uneveness.

- Panasonic plasmas seem to get very high reviews, including some lower-end models in my price range.

- I can't tell where LGs and Sonys stack up.

- Vizios get fairly negative reviews for lack of reliability and repairability.

I'm at a bit of a loss about how to proceed. Advice welcome!

·
Registered
5,307 Posts
Sharp's LC60LE632UN is about the only LED set of that size in your price range with built in WiFi etc.