AVS Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
50 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
After one month with the Infocus LP530 I can say that I am very happy with it. I have 175 hours burned off the bulb so far. At this pace I would have used up the bulb in an LT-150 in 5.7 months.

What it does well-

Standard interlaced DVD on Svideo input.

Expanded movies out to 14 to 16 feet wide on a wall,

picture was great. Truely home theater that was better than

not-home theater.

Quiet and easy to use.

Portable - fit on 10" fireplace mantle.

What it does not do well-

NTSC - I don't know that NTSC can be done well.

Halo - This got much better once I got a real screen with some black border masking around it.

What I have not done-

HTPC

So far I have relied on the internal deinterlacer/scaler and I am very happy with it.

But, this is my first projector.

What we still need-

A head to head comparison of the performance of the LP530 against the LT-150.

·
Registered
1,069 Posts
-- my 530 is on the way (thanks to Dell's great price)

-- a friend wants to bring his 150 over.

-- an HTPC is in place

-- screen is a Stewart StudioTek 130, 4x3 84" diagonal.

-- NTSC, DVD & LD signal sources.

-- no light control at all.

-- will be replacing 19 years of CRT FP use...

Stay tuned

·
Registered
1,354 Posts
May I ask how much you spent on the 530? I also like what I hear about this machine, I may use one in my permanent home theater room down the road if I ever make some money, but right now the LT150 is my best choice due to the short throw. Can the 530 throw as short as the 150?

·
Registered
3 Posts
I'm in the process of setting up my LP530. I'm very happy with the picture and want to make sure I do everything possible to eliminate/mask the halo as best I can. Any advise or comments in that regard?

·
Registered
1,069 Posts

·
Registered
3,102 Posts
Another way to get rid of halo is to get a screen that has a black border around it.

·