AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
555 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
The agreements being signed today look like content encryption may be happening soon.
http://www.cnn.com/2001/SHOWBIZ/TV/0...eut/index.html

Since the progress of such an agreement would be well known to vendors, could the price drop of the LT150 be more than the LT150z release. Could the price drop really be reflecting a short life span of equipment without decryption capabilities.

At the same time, the encryption would not affect the presentation projector application which is probably their most important market.

I know I am holding off to see how this all plays out.

·
Registered
280 Posts
I'm no engineer, but it seems that any encryption hassles would affect set-top boxes, DVD players, or RPTV's with built-in satellite tuners, not projectors. If you are able to watch encrypted program at all, it would be decrypted before it reached the display.

In any case, with thousands of DVD's available which look fantastic on a good projector, it's worth $2700 for the LT 150. Frankly, I sometimes wish that ALL bit-perfect recording of digital signals would be outlawed. No D-VHS, no DVD recorders, no blank discs. BUT THEN give us copy-proof 1080p DVD's for a fair price. I would take that deal any day.

Mike

P.S. OF COURSE I want to record HDTV. I'm just tired of technology being held up because of piracy concerns.

·
Registered
555 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Quote:
Originally posted by catullus:
I'm no engineer, but it seems that any encryption hassles would affect set-top boxes, DVD players, or RPTV's with built-in satellite tuners, not projectors. If you are able to watch encrypted program at all, it would be decrypted before it reached the display
I am not sure, but I thought the encryption would go into the video display so that there would be no easy way to get to the analog signal for recording.