Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Masters,

Probably a newbie question, but I can't seem to find the info by doing a search.

When I go into 'advanced settings', and into 'resolution' it gives me two choices; auto(i think) and 'native'. Switching to 'native' gives me a rather small picture with apparantly better resolution(maybe because the size is smaller that I am getting this effect?)

When do I use either modes? Please, explain in plain simple language, as if to a 5 year old.

Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
1,639 Posts
ok...i'm a newbie at this too, but from the best i can make out- this projectors resoultion is 1xxx x 7xx, and a dvd image , for example, is 640 x 480.

640 x 480 sits inside that 1xxx x 7xx area so it looks smaller, but finer because the pixels are being projected 1 for 1 (native).

when the image is scaled up to acommodate the panel of the pj, it has to scale ( interpolate...guess) to fill in the spaces. you get a bigger image, because the full panel of the pj is being used, but it isn't a 'truer' image. its a guesstimate at how the image should look. i, and everyone i've shown it to so far, find it to be a pretty decent job as far as scaling goes. but native mode is unscaled and therefore, technically 'truer' to the source, which contributes to the impression of a sharper, finer picture.

to get the same size in native mode, however, you would need to back the pj up quite a bit and spread those 640 x 480 pixels over a lareger area, which would increase the screendoor.

so i would say if you have a smaller sized screen you can go native, but if you have a larger screen set it to auto.

for the avs intelligensia: how'd i do?

·
Registered
227 Posts