AVS Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
545 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have searched, but I cannot find definitive reasons why one is preferred over the other. Please help here as I want to purchase a scaler for use with my new HT. I am a newbie, so I am trying to understand the whole PJ issue (lip Synch, video processing, frame rates, etc.)

My goal is to improve SD broadcast as much as possible (if possible) and provide excellent DVD and HD cable performance.

I have seen claims that the Lumagen has "much better HD processing" than the DVDO iScanHD+, but what does that mean and why?

DVDO:

I believe the iScan can address the lip synch problem, but the Lumagen cannot.

12Bit DAC

One DVI Input (Big Handicap)

One memory per input

SDI available

Lumagen HDP/HDP Pro

Lumagen has two DVI inputs, iScan has only one.

10bit DAC

Four Memory per input

SDI Available

Cannot address Lip Synch

Can someone help me understand this whole processor issue? Why is one better than the other?

Regarding Lip Synch. My THX Ultra AV Reciever has delay capability built-in, maybe I could use this, but I don't think I can delay the front channels. It would seem that I need to buy another piece of equipment for audio delay, if I select the Lumagen - correct?

I plan to only use a DVI connection to my PJ and have the scaler/processor act as the Video Switch.

Thanks for the help.

·
Registered
545 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Come on guys, most of you have one of these. Why did you pick one over the other? I am trying to make an informed decision.

Thanks.

·
Registered
779 Posts
People in here have already answered that question several times.

You are just too lazy to use the search function.

·
Registered
545 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Nope, not too lazy. I have used the search, but I have NOT been able to find the answer. If it is so obvious, please direct to the thread and I would appreciate it.

·
Registered
285 Posts