Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 169 Posts

·
Registered
173 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

i´m an absolute newby. And an all live Mac user. I have also a LS 110.

Now I am about to build a HTPC. Not only to get a better picture, but also to have other advantages as Internet connection, Photoslideshow, divx, Computer games, etc.

I'm know Mac´s perfectly, so I´m more confident with them that PC´s.

My Mac is very old and slow: G3/300 Mhz, no DVD, ATI Rage 16 MB...

My Question: What Mac do I need: Is there someone who has REAL experiences or

should I go for a PC HTPC?? I have small experience with PC´s... but not big problems to learn. The only thing is that I have to switch my mind every time I go from one Computer to the other!

When doing HTPC. What is the actual "state of the art" equipment? What is the minimum requirement?

THANK YOU!

·
Registered
1,050 Posts
What kind of display will you be using?

If it's a display that supports 1080i via component then you should get a G4 tower that supports the ATI 8500 Mac Edition AGP video card so that you can use the ATI component adapter, which will support 480i, 480p, 720p and 1080i.

Dennis

·
Registered
325 Posts
Here's the thing. If you're a Mac User, you probably don't tweak very much. Right now, building a Home Theater PC is about tweaking, period.

Tweak = mess around with the hardware and continually reconfigure software.

(Note to Mac Tweakers -- I know you do exist, but you're a rare breed when compared to the PC Tweakers...)

I bought a G4 Cube about 2 years ago to try to make an HTMac (fanless was so attractive!) While I couldn't bring the performance to where I needed it for Home Theater, it continues to serve me well as a Unix environment and video editing station--FinalCut / Combustion reign supreme.