AVS Forum banner

4021 - 4040 of 6076 Posts

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
9,026 Posts
Mattymo:


After "attending" the webinar, or looking at the released info, are you guys getting excited about getting the new equipment?


Has Fox talked to you guys about a potential install date (between end of May and sometime in August)?


Hey, at least Fox is joining the 21st century and will monitor the equipment via internet now, instead of via dialup modem.


I want one of those remote spectrum analyzers



Interesting that they will be dropping the datarate from ~73Mbps to ~68Mbps. I'd have to do the math, but I think DVB-S2 8PSK can do ~80Mbps. But, that is about 17Mbps for each of the 4 HD streams (video/audio/overhead) and with MPEG-4, even at 15Mbps for the video, that is about 30Mbps in MPEG-2 terms.


So, while the input to the splicer will be real nice, having to drop it down to no more than 15 Mbps for air, is going to suck, still. UNLESS (which isn't mentioned in what I read), the splicer is capable of not wasting bits in null packets and allowing you to use the FULL bitrate available for HD.


If Fox still insists in setting aside bits for a non-existant SD subchannel, it will still suck.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
270 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrvideo /forum/post/16241092


Mattymo:


After "attending" the webinar, or looking at the released info, are you guys getting excited about getting the new equipment?


Has Fox talked to you guys about a potential install date (between end of May and sometime in August)?

Looks like some cool stuff.... no info on an install date though.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
9,026 Posts
Yes, Jimmy Kimmel is in HD. You wouldn't know it watching WKOW. I turned them off and immediately switched to satellite.


The show needs to redo the opening. All they did was stretch it to fill the screen.


No idea if the operator in WKOW master control woke up or not.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
9,026 Posts
AFAIK, this glitch wasn't on my end, but if no one else has it captured on their DVR/computer, then it was.


At approximately 8:49:39, the audio dropped out for three seconds, only to come back when there was a corresponding glitch in the video. The audio just didn't go silent, the audio stream vanished.


Did the splicer screw up or was there a problem with the sat feed? (No national complaints, so it wasn't a source problem) It doesn't appear to be a reception signal level problem, as I have an long distance outside antenna pointed right at the tower.


While digital can be good, it is not forgiving at all when things go wrong.


Now I have to try and fix this error, as the file won't edit because the missing audio stream to buffer overflow.


Did anyone else see this problem?


Edit: It almost has to be me, unless the splicer is really screwed up. I found three more locations; 8:8:16, 8:18:11, 8:41:25 and 8:42:28. All of the glitched areas last 3 seconds. All start with the loss of audio and do not return unti the video is also glitched.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3 Posts
I have two TV's receiving Over the Air HDTV, one through a converter box, and the other is an HDTV capable TV. I live about 20 SSE of Madison.


Until recently (maybe two weeks ago) I was able to receive all Madison stations well, using only rabbit ears. I can no longer receive Fox47, but all the other stations are fine. Has something happened to the signal?


Rotating the antenna doesn't help. Any ideas? Besides installing an external antenna?


Thanks for any suggestions.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
270 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrvideo /forum/post/16269275


Did anyone else see this problem?


Edit: It almost has to be me, unless the splicer is really screwed up. I found three more locations; 8:8:16, 8:18:11, 8:41:25 and 8:42:28. All of the glitched areas last 3 seconds. All start with the loss of audio and do not return unti the video is also glitched.

I didn't watch last night, but I do have it DVR'd... (i'm still behind a week since vacation too).... but there's nothing on the discreps, and no other calls/emails/complaints.... gotta be you this time!
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
9,026 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by mattymo /forum/post/16270460


I didn't watch last night, but I do have it DVR'd... (i'm still behind a week since vacation too).... but there's nothing on the discreps, and no other calls/emails/complaints.... gotta be you this time!

Good luck in watching your DVR'd copy of last week's episode. Fox pushed AI over by 8 minutes, on purpose. So lots and lots of DVRs shut off before the episode finished airing. Lots of complaints went to Fox. So what did those idots do? Another runover this week of 5 minutes. See the AVS thread for Fringe for discussion about this overrun mess.


As for the glitches, it just doesn't make any sense. A loss of signal, due to this or that, wouldn't necessarily have the same dropout/return pattern. In this case, each and every glitch was first preceeded by a loss of the audio stream and after three seconds, the video glitches with a very similar pattern and the audio returns at that point. I do not know if it happened with last week's Fringe. It didn't happen with Terminator or Dollhouse and nothing has changed with regard to antenna position or connections.


I'd record a test onto D-VHS tape, but the transition from net to local or local to net results in the STB and/or the D-VHS deck locking. Whatever the splicer is doing during those transitions messes up the STB and D-VHS deck. Two STBs (same model) and two different models of JVC D-VHS deck are affected.


The only way to clear the problem is to power it down. I can't even change the channel on the STB.


Of course, Fox isn't going to give a damn about this problem, as I'm probably about the only person left in the country that has a STB with firewire out and a D-VHS deck. Maybe, just maybe, the problem will go away with the new splicer. When it is placed on line, I'll have to run a test to find out.


I suppose I could record a 480i S-VHS tape do see if there are problems. I don't think the STB locks if it isn't feeding the signal to the D-VHS deck.


UPDATE: Tonight's airing of Bones, other than missing the first 2:41 of the show (forgot there was an extra tonight), had zero problems. Again, no change in any configuration at my site.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
9,026 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by sparky00 /forum/post/16270077


Any ideas? Besides installing an external antenna?

What is wrong with putting up an outside antenna, which is probably the best thing to do.


I don't know what you know, or don't know, so I have to remind you that Fox47 digital is currently on RF channel 11. So you need a great set of VHF rabbit ears, as well as UHF (for all the other channels).


You might have to fully extend and lay flat both telescoping antenna elements.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrvideo /forum/post/16275648


What is wrong with putting up an outside antenna, which is probably the best thing to do.


I don't know what you know, or don't know, so I have to remind you that Fox47 digital is currently on RF channel 11. So you need a great set of VHF rabbit ears, as well as UHF (for all the other channels).


You might have to fully extend and lay flat both telescoping antenna elements.

Just that I have an old house (plaster & lathe walls, stone foundation, etc). Anytime I don't have to mess with trying to fish wires, I'm happy.


I'm a newbie, and didn't know that 47 was on the VHF band. I was turning the uhf antenna and not really trying anything with the telescoping elements. I'll give it a try.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
9,026 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by sparky00 /forum/post/16282904


Just that I have an old house (plaster & lathe walls, stone foundation, etc). Anytime I don't have to mess with trying to fish wires, I'm happy.

Ya, that isn't any fun.

Quote:
I'm a newbie, and didn't know that 47 was on the VHF band. I was turning the uhf antenna and not really trying anything with the telescoping elements. I'll give it a try.

Sometime this year, the channel will be changing to 49. So Madison will be all UHF after that is done.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
107 Posts
fyi,


I have a OTA plus receive WMSN digital feed on DISH.


The DISH feed has audio about 5 seconds ahead of the video.


The OTA feed is fine.


Where is the DISH uplink site in Madison?


It needs to be tweaked.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
270 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by arty100 /forum/post/16286164


fyi,


I have a OTA plus receive WMSN digital feed on DISH.


The DISH feed has audio about 5 seconds ahead of the video.


The OTA feed is fine.


Where is the DISH uplink site in Madison?


It needs to be tweaked.


Dish is at WKOW, DirecTV is at WISC...


we've been having issues with audio on both... but yeah, OTA is fine... really quite annoying when both providers say it's us... when it's not.... and of course viewers calling blaming us too.... all we can do is tell them to call their dish provider back...


and of course we've been calling them too!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
107 Posts
Does anyone know if the Rockford stations finally went to full power?

I have been receiving 17 for months, but now 13 & 23 are coming fairly

regular over my DISH OTA.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
17,275 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by y2hitman /forum/post/16297679


Where is 38 out of????

Might be referring to W38CT, the local TBN translator.


- Trip
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
9,026 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trip in VA /forum/post/16297717


Might be referring to W38CT, the local TBN translator.

Location is basically across the beltline from WMTV.


Even though the FCC data says that the ERP is 14.1kW, I'm not that far away (a couple of miles) and even with a hi-gain directional antenna the analog signal is buried in snow.


Not that I care.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
9,026 Posts
Well, tonight's capture of Dollhouse is a bust



I blame this screwup on calling for a weather warning by the National Weather Service. It was pulled about 15:14 into Dollhouse.


While these weather warnings can be a pain-in-the-butt, the problem is that there was a problem with the splicer when it was cut back to net. Here is the report from MPEG2REPAIR:


**********

MPEG2Repair: F:\\WMSN-TV-0424-1958-Dollhouse.tp


Sequence Frame 66816(2-I) / Time 0:18:34 :

VideoError: Packet 14374513 has transport_error_indicator.

VideoError: Packet 14374514 has transport_error_indicator.

VideoError: Packet 14374516 has transport_error_indicator.

VideoError: Packet 14374517 has transport_error_indicator.

VideoError: Packet 14374518 has transport_error_indicator.

AudioError: Packet 14374519 has transport_error_indicator.

VideoError: Packet 14374520 has transport_error_indicator.

VideoError: Packet 14374521 has transport_error_indicator.

VideoError: Packet 14375064 has transport_error_indicator.

VideoWarning: Discontinuity of (11+) packet(s). First packet ending at offset 2702869608

VideoWarning: Discontinuity of (15+) packet(s). First packet ending at offset 2702869796

VideoError: MPEG2 Intra DCT coefficient index out of bounds. MBA=1701(336,336)

VideoError: Failed to decode macroblock at MBA=1701(336,336)

VideoError: Missing 1900 macroblocks in picture slice(s) at MBA=1700(320,336).

FileInfo: Last video errors span 89 bytes at file offset 2702612963


Sequence Frame 66817(2-I) / Time 4:32:26 :

VideoWarning: TemporalRef gap of 1011. Timestamp gap of 0.033378 sec. ending at file offset 2702585560

AudioError: Corrupted AC3 frame of 3116 payload bytes at file offset 2702552472

AudioWarning: Timestamp gap of 15232.065758 sec. ending at file offset 2702552472


Sequence Frame 66832(13-B) / Time 4:32:27 :

VideoWarning: TemporalRef gap of 1021. Timestamp gap of 15232.034080 sec. ending at file offset 2702948040


Sequence Frame 189592(13-B) / Time 5:06:35 :

Info: End of MPEG2 sequence


Sequence Summary:


File Size Processed: 7.14 GB, Play Time: 00h:52m:43s

1280 x 720, 59.94 fps, 19.00 Mbps (13.44 Mbps Average).

Average Video Quality: 27.37 KB/Frame, 0.24 Bits/Pixel.

AC3 Audio: 3/2 Channels (L, C, R, SL, SR) + LFE, 48.0 kHz, 448 kbps.

Dialog Normalization: -25.0 dB, Center Mix Level: -3.0 dB, Surround Mix Level: -3.0 dB

1 of 189592 video frames found with errors.

1 of 98844 audio frames found with errors.

89 corrupted video bytes in file.

15232.067458 seconds of video timestamp gaps.

15232.065758 seconds of audio timestamp gaps.



Sequence Frame 22(11-P) / Time 5:06:35 :

AudioWarning: Timestamp gap of 0.010000 sec. ending at file offset 7668992508

AudioWarning: Timestamp gap of 0.022000 sec. ending at file offset 7669085534


Sequence Frame 8122(1-B) / Time 5:08:54 :

Info: End of MPEG2 sequence


Sequence Summary:


File Size Processed: 7.46 GB, Play Time: 00h:55m:02s

1280 x 720, 59.94 fps, 19.00 Mbps (13.62 Mbps Average).

Average Video Quality: 675.91 KB/Frame, 6.01 Bits/Pixel.

AC3 Audio: 3/2 Channels (L, C, R, SL, SR) + LFE, 48.0 kHz, 448 kbps.

Dialog Normalization: -25.0 dB, Center Mix Level: -3.0 dB, Surround Mix Level: -3.0 dB

1 of 8122 video frames found with errors.

1 of 103212 audio frames found with errors.

89 corrupted video bytes in file.

15232.067458 seconds of video timestamp gaps.

15232.097758 seconds of audio timestamp gaps.



Sequence Frame 23(9-B) / Time 5:08:55 :

AudioWarning: Timestamp gap of 0.010000 sec. ending at file offset 8007907416


Sequence Frame 25(14-P) / Time 5:08:55 :

AudioWarning: Timestamp gap of 0.022000 sec. ending at file offset 8007978822


Sequence Frame 23326(1-B) / Time 5:15:24 :

Info: End of MPEG2 sequence


Sequence Summary:


File Size Processed: 8.34 GB, Play Time: 01h:01m:31s

1280 x 720, 59.94 fps, 19.00 Mbps (13.40 Mbps Average).

Average Video Quality: 258.89 KB/Frame, 2.30 Bits/Pixel.

AC3 Audio: 3/2 Channels (L, C, R, SL, SR) + LFE, 48.0 kHz, 448 kbps.

Dialog Normalization: -25.0 dB, Center Mix Level: -3.0 dB, Surround Mix Level: -3.0 dB

1 of 23326 video frames found with errors.

1 of 115372 audio frames found with errors.

89 corrupted video bytes in file.

15232.067458 seconds of video timestamp gaps.

15232.129758 seconds of audio timestamp gaps.



Sequence Frame 8563(8-P) / Time 5:17:46 :

VideoError: Invalid Huffman code in non-intra MPEG2 block. MBA=765(720,144)

VideoError: Failed to decode macroblock at MBA=765(720,144)

VideoError: Missing 2836 macroblocks in picture slice(s) at MBA=764(704,144).

FileInfo: Last video errors span 38 bytes at file offset 9296789466


Sequence Frame 8564(8-P) / Time 5:17:46 :

Info: End of MPEG2 sequence


Sequence Summary:


File Size Processed: 8.66 GB, Play Time: 01h:03m:54s

1280 x 720, 59.94 fps, 19.00 Mbps (13.56 Mbps Average).

Average Video Quality: 741.16 KB/Frame, 6.59 Bits/Pixel.

AC3 Audio: 3/2 Channels (L, C, R, SL, SR) + LFE, 48.0 kHz, 448 kbps.

Dialog Normalization: -25.0 dB, Center Mix Level: -3.0 dB, Surround Mix Level: -3.0 dB

2 of 8564 video frames found with errors.

1 of 119838 audio frames found with errors.

126 corrupted video bytes in file.

15232.067458 seconds of video timestamp gaps.

15232.129758 seconds of audio timestamp gaps.


End of Log

**********


For some things the splicer was a great idea, but there are too many situations where it causes problems, like this.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrvideo /forum/post/16283837


Ya, that isn't any fun.




Sometime this year, the channel will be changing to 49. So Madison will be all UHF after that is done.

Laying the antenna flat helped quite a bit. Thanks mrvideo.
 
4021 - 4040 of 6076 Posts
Top