AVS Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
96 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi to all,
my intent is to create a thread dedicated to who use HTPC with MadVR on 4K TVs and Pjs.

I hope users can report personal experience and settings here.

I start with a personal question because I'm new in this world and I'm going to build my HTPC to see Blu Ray films at the best quality on my New UHD Tv (Panasonic Ax900):

I'm going to buy a new NVIDIA Graphic card but I've not sure about GTX 970 or GTX 980 ?
If I go with GTX 970 I'll miss some special processing that may give better quality???

thank you all

·
Registered
320 Posts
There's another thread here where I posted some numbers for 1080p to 4K upscaling with madVR and gtx 970. [email protected] neurons for luma doubling, jinc3ar for image + chroma upscaling, and error diffusion 2 takes about ~37ms on a 970. Perfect for 23.976fps material. If you go with either of those cards, I'd highly recommend getting a blower type hsf

·
Registered
54 Posts
I am also building a htpc for blu ray/mkv playback only and trying to figure out best hardware to use. Would a g3258 be a good choice for cpu or would I need a i5.

·
Registered
96 Posts
Discussion Starter #5

You should probably wait for the new AMD cards if you want to do 4K upscaling with NNEDI3.
Interesting but ... we have to say that AMD suffer of the "interop" problem that reduce the performance ....so...
It will be possible that a new AMD chard (with interop) may perform equal to a GTX980 (without interop)??

When you talk about "4k upscaling with NNEDI3" I imagine that you are talking about "Chroma upsampling".... Right?

Do you think that this can be done already today with a GTX980?
A GTX970 is not capable to work in 4K with "Chroma upsampling" with NNEDI3?

and more in your opinion a "chroma upsamling" with NNEDI3 is visibly better than Jinc?