AVS Forum banner

741 - 760 of 28067 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
14,210 Posts
Discussion Starter #741
Just a reminder, mostly for new users...


There was/is an editing bug some people used to run into in Dividing titles before making Scene Deletes (commercials, etc.). That editing sequence could cause freezing, esp. when the user's HDD was nearly full. The workaround was/is to first do the Scene Deletes, then Divide as the last step.


However, since the 3575/76 is so good at transitioning from one timer-set program to another, you really NEVER have to record two or more shows appearing on the SAME channel as one continuous program if you'd rather have them in separate titles.


You can set timer programs back-to-back on the same channel OR on multiple different channels when recording to the HDD and lose only the first 3-sec. of the 2nd, 3rd, etc. programs.


The HDD has a 3-sec. buffer that it has to write to disk (indicated by the chasing lines in the display) and, while it writes that buffer, the 3575/76 is switching to the next timer program (same or other channel) and starts recording immediately. You'll end up with separate titles and 1 extra sec on the lead show, then 3 sec less at the beginning of the next show(s).


If, however, you're a timeshifter and only record/watch/delete, no problem either way.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
949 Posts
I picked up a DVDR3576H from the local Sam's Club this morning for $248.28 + tax. I was holding off until just after my credit card closing date in the unlikely event that there would be something unacceptable about the new unit. I now have 3 weeks to evaluate the unit, and if I should feel the need to return it, the charge and credit would fall in the same billing cycle.


I am OTA only, so I do not expect to detect any significant problems.


So far, I have not seen any significant differences.

The menus on my Feb 2008 DVDR3576H seem to be identical to the ones on my April 2007 DVDR3575H purchased from Walmart for $298 + tax on 5/29/2007.

The remotes are interchangeable. That's good if you feel the need for a spare, since you will only need one. That's bad if you hoped to stack one model on top of the other model, since both will react to the same remote commands.


I did try to do a title split/scene delete in the same way that failed on my DVDR3575H. I felt pretty comfortable since all the titles on the drive were test recordings. I recorded a 2 hour and 4 minute title that included 2 one hour programs. I did a title split at the start of the first program. Then I did a split at the end of the first program. Then I did a split at the start of the second program, and finally a split at the end of the second program. I did edit the names on the titles that contained program 1 and program 2. I then used scene delete to remove all the commercials in program 1 and program 2. Finally, I deleted the titles before program 1, between them, and after program 2. It all worked perfectly. The only thing I think I did differently from my experiment on my DVDR3575H was the renaming of the programs before I attempted the scene deletes. This is hardly conclusive, but they may have done some work on the bug. I will save them to a DVD as a final little test. [ I did make the DVD and it looked fine during a quick scan.]


The sensitivity of the Analog tuner is not impressive, but it appears to be the same as my DVDR3575H. I do not consider this to be an issue for me, since the analog stations are temporary for OTA. On the other hand, the digital tuner is more sensitive than the tuners in my Philips 42PF7320A TV and my Vizio VX32L TVs. Since I do not use the recorder as an STB and I almost use it exclusively to record OTA HD stations, the digital tuner is much more important to me.


The only clear difference I have noticed is cosmetic, and I don't have any problems with the old front panel or the new one.


If I do spot any significant differences, I will post a follow-up.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
13,272 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by OD3 /forum/post/13744139


Are there any differences between the 3575 and 3576?

The only obvious one so far is the color.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
24 Posts
Is there a way to format the HDD or does the "Delete All Titles" accomplish the same thing? I have a Panny E80 with the "Format" option that I use prior to the start of each TV season to clear the contents from the drive and reset pointers. I've read it's good to do this to avoid fragmentation problems.


Thank You,

RangerDave
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
14,210 Posts
Discussion Starter #747
No Format on the HDD, just delete files and keep from being too full for editing, like title Divides along with Scene (commercial) Deletes.


Really don't *have to* use Divide just to get multiple shows in a row in separate titles... the biggest use for Divide.


The 3575/76 is excellent at timer rec back-to-back shows on same or different channels, losing only the first 3 sec of succeeeding shows after the first one.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
14,210 Posts
Discussion Starter #748 (Edited)


REC STANDARDS, REC MODES, TIME REMAINING, HDD/DVD CAPACITIES

Index:
Notes
Recording Standards
Setting & Checking Rec Mode
Time Remaining (TR)
HDD Capacities
DVD Capacities
Encoder Basics

Notes


  1. With your HDD, the "standard" times for each rec mode, like 2 hours for SP, don't apply like they do for a DVD. You can record to the HDD up to the max. single-title record time of 12 hours AT ANY REC MODE (11:59:59 to be exact).
  2. This DVDR's default rec mode can be automatically changed by a RTD from HDD>DVD at a different rec mode, so always check your default rec mode afterwards! A high-speed dub (HSD) doesn't change the default rec mode.

Go back to Index ...... Go to main list of help files

Recording Standards

All of these DVDRs compress video in MPEG-2 format and audio in Dolby 2.0 format (stereo). However, they use different video recording Standards.

The first 8 generations use the +VR recording Standard developed by the DVD+RW Alliance, of which Philips was a founding member. Once finalized, +VR discs are compatible with the standards used in other DVDRs and players.

The 9th-gen 557 uses the industry-standard Video and VR modes, like Pioneer, Panasonic, Sony, etc.

The DVD Std requires all DVDs and DVD recorders to be standard definition (SD) 480i so they can only play and record SD 480i material. These DVDRs can produce a picture quality comparable to what you see on commercial DVD movies, assuming you record from an excellent source like a digital program on a digital channel. Most, but not all, of the programming on ESPN-HD, ABC-HD, CBS-HD, FOX-HD, NBC-HD. etc. will be an excellent source.

Go back to Index ...... Go to main list of help files

Setting & Checking Rec Mode

Before you start a real-time "manual" recording or copying on either the HDD or a DVD... one that you initiate with the REC button... make sure the DEFAULT rec mode is set for the quality/time you want for that recording... see HDD/DVD capacity charts below.

You can see what the DEFAULT rec mode is if you select the HDD drive while on live TV, then press the INFO/DISPLAY button until you see the the Title/Chapter playback icons at the top and xxhxxm numbers at the bottom right. Those numbers are the time remaining (TR) in hours:minutes at the default rec mode currently set, which is shown just above those numbers, e.g., "HDD SP" shows the default rec mode for the HDD is SP. The same indicators only show for the DVD drive when it is selected and there is a recordable DVD loaded.

You could also change the rec mode directly on live TV using the Rec Mode button. However, that forces you to press the button just to see its current setting and it's too sensitive... it quickly changes to next lower rec mode on 1st press. Using the Display menu allows you to see the current setting w/o pressing the Rec Mode button, but still allows you to change the rec mode there if desired.

When you set a DEFAULT mode, it applies to BOTH DRIVES and to all future recordings to either the HDD or a DVD that are NOT initiated by a menu. Rec modes for timer recording are set separately in their respective menus and only for that specific timer program... they don't change the DEFAULT rec mode.

It remains set until you change it OR you make a real-time dub (RTD) HDD>DVD with the dub menu at a different rec mode, which will reset the default rec mode for both drives to THAT mode.

Also, the rec mode text ("HQ," "SP" etc.) listed in an HDD title will transfer to the title of all dubbed copies whether you do a HSD or a RTD. Only changing the title in Edit can eliminate the rec mode indication.

Go back to Index ...... Go to main list of help files

Time Remaining (TR)

To see TR on the HDD or an unfinalized DVD:
While on any channel or a line input (nothing playing), press the INFO/DISPLAY button 2X or 3X until you see the screen with the search and playback icons at the top. Look in the bottom-right corner of that screen, which should show the rec-mode and TR in HH:MM. Number of presses varies with the machine, channel (analog/digital), and drive selected.

You can change to either drive while on this screen... an icon in the upper-right corner shows which drive you're currently viewing. If the DVD drive is selected, an unfinalized DVD must be loaded to see the default rec mode and the TR on that DVD.

Once on that screen, you can press the Rec Mode button to change rec modes and it will automatically change the TR for that rec mode on the selected drive.

Go back to Index ...... Go to main list of help files

HDD Capacities

Titles = 600 (999 on MDR 53x Series)
Chapters per Title = 99
Chapters per HDD = Unlimited (?)
Hours = See table below for approx. HDD capacities in hours. These are the "conservative" Funai numbers from the manuals.

RecMode | 80G | 160G | 320G' | 500G² | 1TB²
1-hr-HQ| 15| 33| 61| 100| 208
2-hr-SP| 30| 66| 123| 201| 417
2½-hr-SPP| 38| 83| 154| 251| 521
3-hr-LP| 45| 99| 185| 302| 626
4-hr-EP| 60| 132| 247| 403| 835
6-hr-SLP| 90| 198| 371| 604| 1252
'Some replacement 300 and 320GB drives may be seen by FW as "non-std" and MAY format to ~250GB capacity, as reported by TimeLine62 and dfw515 here (3 posts).
²Largest usable capacity= 500GB on 2080/2160/2160A/513/515, 1TB on MDR53x Series, TBD on 557.

Go back to Index ...... Go to main list of help files

DVD Capacities

Titles per Disc = 49 (disc capacity is determined by total file size in MB, not number of titles)
Chapters per Title = 99
Chapters per Disc = 254
Hours = See table below for approx. capacities in H:MM:SS for a std single-layer (SL) DVD using real-time dub (RTD), high-speed dub (HSD), or real-time recording (RTR).

RecMode¹ | RTDTime | HSDTime² | RTRTime³ | Notes
1-hr-HQ | 1:00:00 | 1:04:55 | 1:05:57 | HSD only : 1:05:00 wouldn't fit.
2-hr-SP | 2:00:00 | 2:10:00 | 2:10:15 | HSD only : 2:08:00 for title w/36+ Scene Deletes (same for many edited clips).*
2½-hr-SPP | 2:30:00 | 2:46:30 | 2:48:14 |
3-hr-LP | 3:00:00 | 3:20:00 | 3:21.05 |
4-hr-EP | 4:00:00 | 4:21:00 | 4:21:39 |
6-hr-SLP | 6:00:00 |5:41:00 | 6:16:33 | HSD only : 5:41:18 wouldn't fit. HSD only : No single SLP title can be more than 4:59:59.
¹Rec mode of recorded titles to be dubbed (RTD or HSD), or Rec Mode you set for recording to DVD (RTR).
²End-cut only on HDD title(s), no internal cuts.
³Single direct manual rec to DVD till full, no edits.
*Based on my 36-cut NFL game @2-hr-SP, each mid-cut on HDD might subtract ~3.33 sec from SP 2:10:00 HSD Time? End-cuts have no effect.

More detailed info on these is given in this help file.

Go back to Index ...... Go to main list of help files

Encoder Basics

Our encoders use the MPEG-2 std to compress video into Groups of Pictures (GOP). Each GOP has only ONE real MPEG-2-compressed frame (an I-frame or "key" frame) but the rest are "virtualized," or predicted, based on inter-relationships to the other frames and a motion vector algorithm. Only the key frame is a real, 100% MPEG-2 picture, while the rest are 10-20% "virtual" pics based on the key frame, i.e., everything starts with the key frame.

As Wiki explains:

"MPEG-2 specifies that the raw frames be compressed into three kinds of frames: intra-coded frame (I-frame, aka "key" frame), predictive-coded frame (P-frame), and bidirectionally-predictive-coded frame (B-frame)."

That's why this DVDR has a 3-sec delay in writing to disc... the encoder is doing its very complicated work of producing GOPs in MPEG-2 format.

This DVDR is designed to encode GOPs at a variable bit rate centered around a user-selected quality setting. The quality setting is the rec mode, and the variability is based on video content and complexity, primarily at scene changes where it has to create a new key frame and work out the new virtual relationships. (Don't compare this to a comm. movie on DVD, which is produced in a diff. way [pressed] so scene transitions are smoother.)

This DVDR also does some amazing work in maintaining a "predictable" average bit rate for the user-selected rec mode no matter what types of scenes it encounters.

Contrary to popular opinion, motion by itself doesn't increase bit rate since that's handled by the motion vector algorithm (a math exercise). For example, repetitive and predictable action like cars racing around a track or zipping by a wall camera, recorded at 2-hr-SP, will encode at a LOWER bit rate than "normal" for that mode. On the other hand, drastic scene changes will SPIKE bit rate, such as going from a dark/black screen to a bright/white screen.... black = no video, white = full video... that's why screen saver is black.

Even so, this DVDR can encode both static/dynamic and dark/bright scenes, on the fly, to produce an average, predictable bit rate.

Go back to Index ...... Go to main list of help files

 

·
Registered
Joined
·
14,210 Posts
Discussion Starter #749
Funai, a large Japanese consumer-electronics company, is the most-likely manufacturer of the 3575 and 3576. I found a presentation on their FY2006 Financial Results (thru Mar 2007). Its pretty interesting.


It looks like Funai's DVD recorder business is its "star" so they might keep producing 52% or more of North America's DVD recorders for a few more years anyway?

Click here for the pdf file download (1.11MB).


Some stats from the report:


Market Share = 52% of North American market and 16% worldwide.


North American share of sales = 69.8%.


DVD-related-equipment results = DVD Recorders up 122.2% and other DVD-related areas down. Here's the chart:




"Launching Recorder with Digital Tuner" (the 3575?).


"Launching a digital STB (Terrestrial Digital STB and Digital Cable STB)"
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,065 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by wajo /forum/post/13770843


Funai, a large Japanese consumer-electrronics company, is the most-likely manufacturer of the 3575 and 3576.

Discs recorded in the 3575 are labeled "Funai" if you look at the UDF file system on the disc with ISOBuster.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
14,210 Posts
Discussion Starter #751
New 3575 user playing commercial movies reported a "dark pic" with HDMI on his 1080p LCD and some checks found his 3575's HDMI Format was set for the default "RGB" (analog Component) and his HDMI "RGB Range" was set for "Enhanced" prob. from his intial setup testing. Setting the RGB Range back to the default "Normal" made his HDMI pic "brighter than Component."


A reminder, suggested by this user: Don't mess with the RGB Range settings unless you know what you're doing cuz he didn't initially see much of a diff. in the menu page when he played with his RGB Range setting, so he didn't think twice about leaving it on Enhanced, but it made a BIG diff. when he watched DVDs with dark scenes.


In our dicussions, I recommended he set HDMI Format for YCbCr, instead of the default RGB, and see if his TV auto-sets for YCbCr like mine does (i.e., it's YCbCr compatible). He did that and his 52" Samsung LCD showed an immediate and "dramatic" change... it went black for at least 1-2 seconds before the picture came back up as YCbCr digital Component. (My Vizio 47" LCD doesn't do that.) This gave him his best pic for playing his commercial DVDs. He also left his Component connection to the TV cuz he gets a better pic from his cable box thru Component on his key channels.


If you want to try YCbCr for your HDMI connection, you can use the RGB Range menu to tell if your TV is compatible with YCbCr. If it IS compatible, there will be NO visible change in the RGB Range menu pic on screen when you switch between Normal and Enhanced. If NOT compatible, the 3575/76 reverts to the default RGB, and changing the setting for RGB Range between Normal and Enhanced DOES make a slight diff. in the menu pic on screen.


Per the Reminder above, there won't be a BIG change in the menu pic if your TV is NOT YCbCr compatible, so make sure you set RGB Range back to Normal before leaving the HDMI menus. That way, you won't run into darker-than-dark scenes in your movies.
CAUTION: MAKE SURE YOU'VE SELECTED THE HDMI CONNECTION ON YOUR TV before doing the RGB Range test since you CAN make changes in that menu while on OTHER connections (Composite, S-Video or Component) and, OBVIOUSLY, the RBG Range menu will have no effect on the menu pic.
After making the correct settings, this user also found little, if any, diff. between HDMI and Component for normal TV watching... they were both good... but that prob. depends on your source and total system, so you'll have to experiment if you want the best PQ from every source in your system. (I get my best all-around TV/HDD watching pic with digital Composite cable cuz my analog cable feed is Composite.)


You can use QVC shopping channel for PQ comparisons of live TV since they have studio lighting, static shots, and text always on screen.


This user's TV ALSO has a setting for YCbCr but setting the TV's YCbCr ON made regular TV watching thru his cable box worse. Besides, his TV was auto-setting for YCbCr from the 3575 for his DVDs, which is what he wanted anyway.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
14,210 Posts
Discussion Starter #752
Telecon with a Philips "Tech. Specialist" just now confirms no hardware changes in the 3576 compared to the 3575, only the new Front-End (FE) Firmware (FW).


He said they weren't repackaging returned 3575s in the new 3576 case.

In fact, see next post.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
13,272 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by wajo /forum/post/13807213


Telecon with a Philips "Tech. Specialist" just now confirms no hardware changes in the 3576 compared to the 3575, only the new Front-End (FE) Firmware (FW).


He said they weren't repackaging returned 3575s in the new 3576 case.

In fact, see next post.

What does the new FE-FW give you.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
949 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by wajo /forum/post/13807213


Telecon with a Philips "Tech. Specialist" just now confirms no hardware changes in the 3576 compared to the 3575, only the new Front-End (FE) Firmware (FW).


He said they weren't repackaging returned 3575s in the new 3576 case.

In fact, see next post.

Did you happen to ask the "Tech. Specialist" about the "DTV-S" value?

It would be nice to know for sure what it means and whether it can be updated by a file on a disk like the FE and BE versions. I believe you mentioned in another thread that it appears to have been changed when you installed the on-line update to one of your machines. I don't believe the post indicated that you were absolutely certain that it was "0x8D" prior to the update. As I recall the post, it did indicate that the value for the updated unit is now "0x90" like the DVDR3576 and the latest DVDR3575s.


Did the "Tech. Specialist" happen to explain the significance of the firmware updates available on-line and incuded in the newest machines?

It sure is nice when companies make available to the customers all of the issues addressed by each revision of firmare amnd/or software.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
14,210 Posts
Discussion Starter #756
Ken, the TS didn't know exactly what the FE did, so I didn't ask about the DTV-S, but my post above on the DTV-S appearing straightforward when already left on a digital channel, but being blank then fuzzy for several sec when on an analog channel suggests it's going to the digital tuner to check it's status.


The one unit I updated was 0x8D before the update and 0x90 after... it's my original unit.


It would be nice if they released this same FE FW for the 3575 cuz that might be the only way they'd actually write something (in the instructions) about what it does?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
52 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by wajo


Telecon with a Philips "Tech. Specialist" just now confirms no hardware changes in the 3576 compared to the 3575, only the new Front-End (FE) Firmware (FW).

I guess that explains why I have the blue screen issue with both the new and old unit.


MiamiV
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,703 Posts
^^They have 52 up for auction. Does that mean that the first 52 people in that list will get one when the auction's over? Or just the top bidder gets one?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,307 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Westly-C /forum/post/13811118


^^They have 52 up for auction. Does that mean that the first 52 people in that list will get one when the auction's over? Or just the top bidder gets one?


The first 52 win. So there's a pretty good chance to get one.
 
741 - 760 of 28067 Posts
Top