AVS Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
752 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
A friend asked me about this player , Marantz DV7600, and since i have no working knowledge I though I'd post to see if anybody has opinions .....good or bad. His primary use is SACD, CD, DVD in that order.

·
Registered
828 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by twitch54 /forum/post/0

A friend asked me about this player , Marantz DV7600, and since i have no working knowledge I though I'd post to see if anybody has opinions .....good or bad. His primary use is SACD, CD, DVD in that order.

I only heard the player briefly. I have a DV9600 for just over a year. I had separate SACD and DVD-A players before the DV9600, incl. a Modwright XA-777ES for SACD. With the slowing release schedule for hi-rez, I decided to sell the Modwright player and the Sony TA-P9000ES I used to switch between multi-channel SACD and DVD-S while I could get a decent amt. for them. I was buying many more CDs than anything else at that point. I think the DV9600 is decent on SACD and CD. I've compared it to a bunch of things (e.g. a friend brought over his XA-9000ES and we both thought the sound quality was close on SACD with a very slight nod to the XA-9000ES). I use my DV9600 with an outboard DAC for CDs as on its own it is not in the league of the Modwright XA-777ES I sold. Personally unless one has tons of SACDs (I have a few over 200), it is hard for me to put SACD as a 1st priority given the lack of major studio support and the small number I buy at this point (maybe 10-12/yr.).

·
Registered
15 Posts
I also have the Marantz 9600 universal player. I purchased it modified (Dave Schulte) and never had the opportunity to listen to it directly out of the box. That said, it is much better sounding than my earlier Denon 2900.

Insofar as the 7600, I cannot say...

·
Registered
407 Posts