AVS Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello experts, I am a noob when it comes to hifi audio and will appreciate your help in answering some of my questions.

I am considering buying the martin logan sources ~$700/each + pioneer vsx 1120 to drive them. My questions are

1) Can the pioneer drive these speakers? I have read comments on this forum that you would need to buy Emotiva XPA3 or similar in addition to the pioneer amp

2) What would be a good center channel that will match the sources?

3) Will buying any 10-12" sub fill the room? or would I need to buy a martin logan sub to match the speakers? My local magnolia rep told me that subs arent that important for matching and I can buy any sub that fits my budget

Thanks in advance for your help. Happy holidays

·
Registered
76 Posts
Electrostats are power hungry speakers. It just depends on if you plan on running a full 5.1 system off the 1120 or not.. It does have pre-amps out which is nice. So you could add an external amp to power the elecrtostats later. You wouldnt need the XPA-3 you could get the UPA-2 or UPA-5 and be awesome. You could also consider the vsx-32 (the elite model).

For a center I would go with the either the Martin Logan Matinee or the Motion C. The Matinee is the best match but also costs $1400-1500.

I wouldn't just buy "any sub". A great Logan sub to match would be a Dynamo 700. If you wanted to go outside Logan I'd get something online like a HSU sub. I'm not a huge fan of the def tech subs. Unless you like just a lot of rumble.

·
Registered
2,654 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by jedrgy /forum/post/19582251

For a center I would go with the either the Martin Logan Matinee or the Motion C. The Matinee is the best match but also costs $1400-1500.