AVS Forum banner

1 - 20 of 107 Posts

·
Registered
I am an engineer, trust me.
45 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All

I hope my clickbait title attracts enough attention to you guys.
I have assembled a pretty decent surround setup (I think) in my living room.
It is used for music, games, movies and tv shows.
Details:

In my working quarters Ive a 2.1 setup for music purposes only, with:

Now it all sounds above average of course, every visitor is blown away and leaves with a smile on their face.
BUT, the subwoofer in the living room is very 'fidgety', sounding full at times, rumbling the sofa in movies, games and shows while sounding paper thin on the next bass tone.
Crossovers on the receiver: 80 hz for all speakers, none for the sub, sub gain is set just before half way and set to LFE on the sub itself. This one faces the long wall of the room.
The smaller sub in the working quarters sounds more consistent overall, there are no crossovers set here and the sub is set to LFE. This one is in a cube shaped room.

Ive come up with some potential culprits :

• room size and shape: the living room opens up to the kitchen and is definitely not cube shaped: 6 by 8 meters, 2.5 meter high without the kitchen space counted in;
  • sub placement: with the massiveness of this sub, crawling and placement becomes difficult, it is now placed next to the left front in a corner, next to an external heating element;
  • crossover issues: maybe a higher or lower crossover eliminates the boomyness , the paper thin thing is actually more bothering.

I want to place the sub in another corner, but with the wiring I can only choose 2 corners or place it behind my seating area and need 3 people to move it.
Maybe going wireless with the sub, which opens up way more options, is viable?
suggestions/tips?
I can provide pictures at a later point, if needed.

·
Premium Member
12,212 Posts