AVS Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Premium Member
213 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've read, researched, priced, re-evaluated, and tested various ideas and designs for a Media Center System... and I'm not even close to starting to put things together because I recently moved and I have to rebuild my movie theater room again in the new house.

My criteria for my media center system is as follows:
  1. Must be able to burn DVDs (in ISO format) to a hard drive and play them.
  2. Must be able to burn CDs to a hard drive and play them
  3. Media must be backedup/redundant. While I have the originals, I don't want to re-rip everything all over again
  4. Must be able to record shows, but not necessarily HD.
  5. All destination points of the media center system must have aestetically pleasing equipment (satellite systems).

And finally, I'm a software developer and I like to re-invent the wheel over and over again when it comes to this type of stuff. It's a flaw of mine. :) Gives me a sense of accomplishment. So please try to remember that I want to try and write the UI and management system software and would prefer to not use software like MythTV. Just humor me. :)

So this is what I've come up with so far (trying to keep initial costs low, but flexibility for future upgrades high), but there are still many questions.

There will be at least 3 servers:
  1. At least 1 linux file server dedicated to storing the media. Using content from LinuxFromScratch.org, I can build my own distro with just file sharing capabilities. No X-server... No web browsing (although networking is needed)... Just base kernel, software raid (RAID-5), networking modules, and some file sharing daemon (probably Samba, but not necessary because satellites will be Linux based). Will also have DVD, CD iso generation (no burning needed).