AVS Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hey all,

New user and a newbie here. I'm currently renovating my basement and I have a designated room that I want as our media/theater room.

Here's the measurements of the room:

and here is speaker layout of the room:

Initially I was thinking that in ceiling speakers would be the way to go, however, I've read that these can yield sub optimal performance and bookshelf/freestanding speakers are the way to go. So now I'm thinking perhaps free standing speakers for front, and mounted side speakers and in ceiling rear speakers?

My wife was thinking that we should have the tv on the left wall and having an L shaped couch. However, I'm not sure how the rear speaker placement would work since the couch would be against the right most wall.

I'm also really having a hard time figuring out what to do with this left indent in the wall. I was thinking it might be a good spot for all the components to sit? It's only really around 1.5' deep.

Please critique my layout of this room and please suggest changes to speaker placements, tv, couch locations, etc.

thanks in advance!!

cheers.

Eric

Attachments

·
Registered
997 Posts
1. Wire more RG6 for subwoofer connections. You may want to use more than one sub in that space.
2. Why not wire for speaker outlets in the office too for Zone 3.
3. You should have at least 22" depth for component shelves. Some AVR/power amp can be 17" deep not counting the cables sticking out the back.
4. Wire 2 Cat6 to every possible TV location.
5. Wire 2 Cat6 from control location to the bar. You may want to retire your old TV there some day. With Cat6, you can use HDMI-over-Cat solutions to share HDMI sources.
6. Move the ceiling mounted rear speakers as far back as you can to help improve the angle.
7. Move the ceiling mounted surround speakers as wide as you can to help improve the angle.