AVS Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
894 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just wondering if anyone knows how to convert a MiniDSP 2x4HD kit into a 2x4HD balanced kit ? - A kind and knowledgeable member on the MiniDSP forums said that it is possible. I cannot find any step by step references that explain the procedure. Basically, the idea would be to replace the 6 RCA connectors with XLR connectors and wire them to be truly balanced.

Has anyone out there achieved this successfully ?

·
Registered
894 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
I have some DIY instructions that explain how to achieve this but I'm not an electronics engineer.

Any electronic DIY whiz-heads here that would not mind helping ?

Essentially, what I am talking about is not some quick conversion hack, adapters or conversion cables. I am talking about upgrading or enhancing the 2x4HD to have actual and proper balanced interfaces (XLR based) in place of the existing RCA connectors.

·
Registered
1,695 Posts
I have some DIY instructions that explain how to achieve this but I'm not an electronics engineer.

Any electronic DIY whiz-heads here that would not mind helping ?

Essentially, what I am talking about is not some quick conversion hack, adapters or conversion cables. I am talking about upgrading or enhancing the 2x4HD to have actual and proper balanced interfaces (XLR based) in place of the existing RCA connectors.
I’ve been wanting to do this for quite a long time also, still don’t know why MiniDSP haven’t just released an XLR version. If you get one built please post in this thread how!

Reactions: tjambro

·
Registered
894 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I’ve been wanting to do this for quite a long time also, still don’t know why MiniDSP haven’t just released an XLR version. If you get one built please post in this thread how!
Good to hear from you and to learn that I am not alone in this endeavour.