AVS Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello!

First time poster here, but I have been reading this invaluable resource for months now before during and after setting up my first ever home theater system.

In early December I finally pulled the trigger on Vann's Mirage half-price, free shipping Omni setup. I went with 2x Omni 350 for fronts, 2x Omni 150 for rears, and C150 for center channel. I got the 350s instead of 550s for fronts because I planned on buying a subwoofer at some point.

I'm an analyst at heart, and so I have read and tried to learn about the vast world of bass and acoustics in general, but I still have a long way to go.

I've read about the BIC H-100, AV123 X-Sub, Dayton, HSU of all kinds, SVS, a little eD, and Velodyne, but what I can't find ANYTHING on is the PRESTIGE S10 and S8 from Mirage. (I have read about, and am not interested in the standard Omni subs)

Does anybody have any experience with this PRESTIGE line? They look pretty and the numbers look decent to me, but I'd really be curious to see a response graph or hear from somebody that has heard one in action.

Thank you!

·
Registered
4,121 Posts
Honestly I wouldn't bother with the new Prestige line as I don't really think it's a big leap forward in any noticeable way. I have the Omni S12 which is a fabulous sub. It certainly held its own against the SVS PB10 and Hsu STF3 which was its biggest competition at the time (and I *still* prefer it over the PB10 for sound quality). However, the landscape has changed a bit and all of the competitors have raised the stakes in every way. If I were buying now, I'd choose differently.

I'm pretty sure that Mirage rates the -3dB spec for "in room" which means its low frequency extension is more optimistic as those from SVS and such (based on my own experience with my S12). My S12 drops quickly below 25Hz which is different than the -3dB 19Hz figure quoted by Mirage

·
Registered
3,451 Posts