AVS Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a newbie at this so bare with me. I have done the research(on this site and beyond) for the best TV I can get in my budget and space and have decided on the pioneer elite PRO-530hdi. Great deal with the rebate right now. I am set to buy the thing when I go to the store and sitting beside the Elite is a mits silver plus for about $200 less. I want to like the elite more but the more I look at the silver plus the more I wonder if I am making a mistake with the elite. It just seemed to look better no matter what format (dish sd, dvd, dish HD) I watched it in. My question is was it just the way the elite was set up or is the mits just a better set? I am not one of those with the means to change sets every couple of years. I need this set to be one I am happy with for years to come. I know this topic has been beatin to death but I would still like to hear some opinions.

I have decided to go with CRT so please no LCD or DLP suggestions.

Thanks

brad

·
Registered
47 Posts
Mitsu rules.

·
Registered
4,137 Posts
Brad,

I think if you asked this question a few years ago the concensus would be that the Elite is the better set. Back then the price would also be considerably higher than it is now. I was somewhat astonished at the price of the 53" set when I was at a Tweeter store a few months ago. My business partner paid double that for his set just over two years ago.

However, the competition has improved substantially, and in most of the shootout reviews that I have seen the Elite sets no longer hold the top rung of the ladder among reviewers. That doesn't mean the Elite is a bad set or that it is incapable of making a good picture. It's more a reflection of how far the competition has come.