AVS Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Using WMC 7 via MediaBrowser - any time I fire up an MKV file about 2 minutes into the file it stutters for about 5 seconds and then straightens out and is fine for the duration of the video (it happens with all the mkv files I have(25)). Audio is output via spdif to receiver and video via HDMI straight to tv. The only Codecs installed are Lav and MadFlac for my music files. I read a post stating to chech that only 2 speaker setup is chosen but in wmc 7 the speaker setup only gives me the option for 5.1 or 7.1, so it is currently set at 5.1. Any advice?

·
Registered
13,150 Posts
That post meant that in the sound panel (start -> control panel -> sound) you select 2 channel.

Then in WMC when you set it up you select 5.1 or 7.1 and in your case you would choose spdif for the sound output.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
thanks - I'm a newbie so please bear with me : So within control panel | Sound - I don't see any options for 2 speaker setup (realtek Digital Output(optical) is my current default and a configure button below is grayed out.

·
Registered
13,150 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by jboku /forum/post/20826506

thanks - I'm a newbie so please bear with me : So within control panel | Sound - I don't see any options for 2 speaker setup (realtek Digital Output(optical) is my current default and a configure button below is grayed out.

Click on the Realtek Digital Out and that should select it. Then you should be able to click on configure.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Still grayed out, I purchased your guides and remember something about using a vga monitor to configure, currently I am using HDMI , should I return to my vga monitor for this?

·
Registered
13,150 Posts