AVS Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys I'm new to HD at home I just bought a plasma (Hitachi 42HDS69) and I have Time Warner HD in NYC with a SA HD8300...Movies in 1080i are fantastic SOOOO much better than anything I have ever seen on DVD!

My question before I invest in a Blu-Ray player is there a BIG difference in Picture quality BTW my Cable HD feed and a Blu-Ray Disc?

·
Registered
2,871 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by adl /forum/post/0

Hi guys I'm new to HD at home I just bought a plasma (Hitachi 42HDS69) and I have Time Warner HD in NYC with a SA HD8300...Movies in 1080i are fantastic SOOOO much better than anything I have ever seen on DVD!

My question before I invest in a Blu-Ray player is there a BIG difference in Picture quality BTW my Cable HD feed and a Blu-Ray Disc?

Yes, there will be a nice improvememnt over any Cable/Satellite source for both Picture Quality and also Audio Quality. It will bring new life to your movie viewing experience.

~Josh

·
Registered
136 Posts
Just to throw my 2 cents in as a new BluRay owner the difference to me was very noticeable with a good transfer. I recently purchased Kung Fu Hustle from BB with the BOGO free deal. It also just happened to be on Starz HD the other night, so I was able to do a direct compare between the two.

It was a noticeable difference. I use Comcast cable I am happy with my HD picture from them. But the sound and picture were just so much clearer. Where the HD cable picture looked like a really nice film, the BluRay gave it that 3D pop. I also found the contrast much better on the BluRay player.

It is not the difference between DVD and HD, but put it this way. After just spending money on it to get it on BluRay and then seeing it on cable the next night, I have zero regret about buying the BluRay version.

If it is a movie you might watch just once, wait for the cable HD. If you really like the movie, the upgrade is worth it.

·
Registered