AVS Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys I'm new to HD at home I just bought a plasma (Hitachi 42HDS69) and I have Time Warner HD in NYC with a SA HD8300...Movies in 1080i are fantastic SOOOO much better than anything I have ever seen on DVD!

My question (before I invest in a HD player) is there a BIG difference in Picture quality BTW my Cable HD feed and a HD DVD/Blu-Ray Disc?

·
Registered
LG 55" C9 OLED, Yamaha RX-A660, Monoprice 5.1.2 Speakers, WMC HTPC, TiVo Bolt, X1
45,754 Posts
HD DVD or Blu-ray should be better, depending on the specific title.

·
Registered
17,754 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken H /forum/post/0

HD DVD or Blu-ray should be better, depending on the specific title.

Absolutely. My impresssion of the Blu-Ray demo I saw was that I've never seen anything that good on cable or satellite. It's pretty close to stuff I've seen coming out of live truck feeds (a little more compressed, but darned close). Add to that being able to view it on a true 1080p set, and I'm sold if I ever win the lotto....

·
Registered
500 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by adl /forum/post/0

My question (before I invest in a HD player) is there a BIG difference in Picture quality BTW my Cable HD feed and a HD DVD/Blu-Ray Disc?

Absolutely, High Def on cable/satellite is far inferior to HD-DVD/Blu-ray. Of course PQ varies from disc to disc, but for the most part you will see a big difference because of factors like better codec's, less compression, and not to mention Original Aspect Ratio's.

·
Registered
3,130 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by rkunces /forum/post/0

This question is a little off-topic but how do the PS3 and Xbox 360's versions of the Blu-ray and HD-DVD player perform in pq compared to say the $1000 models out right now.

The PS3 is pretty much the best Blu-ray player available if you have an HDMI receiver.

The PQ on the Xbox 360 add-on is fine, but audio is limited to vanilla Dolby Digital.

·