AVS Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys I'm new to HD at home I just bought a plasma (Hitachi 42HDS69) and I have Time Warner HD in NYC with a SA HD8300...Movies in 1080i are fantastic SOOOO much better than anything I have ever seen on DVD!

My question before I invest in a HD DVD player is there a BIG difference in Picture quality BTW my Cable HD feed and a HD DVD Disc?

·
Registered
3,265 Posts
When I got HD cable hooked up, I no longer watched movies in standard definition on TV. After I got my HD-DVD player, I no longer watch movies on HD cable. Granted, the difference between HD cable and HD-DVD are more subtle the the difference between HD cable and DVD, but they are there, and for me at least, it has made is so that I prefer to only watch movies on HD-DVD. I'm projecting on a 10' wide screen, so take that into account. You will probably be able to notice a difference on your TV. But only you can decide if that difference is worth the investment.

·
Registered
63 Posts
Fact: HD-DVD blows HD broadcast out of the water... BUT (there is always a but), depending on your screen size the difference might not be as overwhelming as what it is for some folks.

Yes, it will look better on your 42" plasma than on HD lite broadcast but not in the same way it would for someone with a 60+ TV or Projector.

I was the same way with my HDTV. HDTV blew me away at first and I could never go back to SD (especially stretched SD). Then I decided to pick up an HD-A1 around launch and now I hardly ever DVR HD movies. I'd say pull the trigger and enjoy.
Come on in the waters great!

·
Registered
30 Posts
For my money HD DVD looks as good as the best cable HD you'll ever see, only without any of the pixelization you often get during fast-moving action scenes due to the overcompression of the digital cable signal. Aside from that (which to me, is a big deal on its own), the difference is not night and day.

·
Registered
2,801 Posts