Not open for further replies.
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
197 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

I hope someone can help me out.

I have been using me HTPC (windows XP, Theatertek, Radeon 7200) extensively for DVD viewing. As in my country DVD prices have escalated, I have been ripping rented ones for my own use.

Formerly I had a 80G Seagate barracuda as master (only) hardisc, of which a 30G partition was dedicated for DVD ripping storage. And recently, I decided to install another 80G Barracuda unit for DVD ripping use only, in slave configuration.

I tried a few ripping on my new HD, but the ripping speed was very low, about 1.2X average, while I get up to 6.0X speed on the master HD.

Checking the PC settings, I found out the slave HD has not DMA enabled.

So, I have a master HD with Ultra DMA mode 5 and a slave HD with PIO mode enabled, where in the former I can get up to 6.0X ripping speed and a poor 1.2X on the Slave HD.

I checked HD physical integrity with Seagate software , and checked OK. Rechecked IDE cable connection and looks ok to me.

Moreover, I have tried forcing DMA to no avail. I toggled between “PIO only†and “DMA if available†in the Current Transfer Mode drop-down box. Nothing, nada. Still PIO mode.

Lastly, following some recommendations, I opened the following registry key:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\\SYSTEM\\CurrentControlSet\\Control\\Clas s\\{4D36E96A-E325-11CE-BFC1-08002BE10318}

Where I opened the 0001 subkey (the slave HD is on primary IDE channel), and deleted the SlaveIdDataCheckSum value. Then I rebooted the PC. Unfortunately, the transfer mode didn’t change to DMA.

I have read some people have solved this issue by uninstalling the IDE channel where the device is connected and reboot the PC, letting Windows re detect the IDE channel.

Thing is, I’m too chicken to do that, as my OS is located in the primary IDE channel, and I’m afraid I might make my HTPC useless.

Any help is much appreciated.