AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Noob here, just getting into home theater / AV stuff. First, I hope I've selected the right forum for this !??

I have been reading a fair bit and want to digitize my CD collection (and perhaps DVDs in the future), store this on my PC, be able to create my own play lists, or whole albums or genres, and transmit (wired or wireless) music files (WAV or MP3 or other format) or eventually DVD/movies/pictures, to my Home Theater. Currently I have home wireless configured (801.g) I have a receiver (HK about 5 years old, not sure of model number right now), DVD player, Replay TV, and a new panasonic Plasma TV. My receiver inputs/outputs include digital optical, digital coax, composite (red, white, yellow). my TV has input/output for HDMI, dig optical, dig coax, component (RGB) and composite (Red, white, yellow). ( I can get more information if needed)

I made an impulse purchase about 2 weeks ago of a D-link Media Server 320(?). It was a snap to install, but really doesn't do the job. Too many firm-ware issues, poor antennae/reception for in-house wireless, Extremely limited playlist management and server software. I used the composite audio connects (Red/white) from the Dlink server to my receiver CD "in". I was VERY disappointed with the volume and quality of sound. Not sure if that is me not knowing what to fix/tweak or not. So I boxed it up and I'm ready to take it back. In the meantime, I have beed reading about the slimdevices squeezebox2.

Before I make another purchase, I want to review and not do another Impulse Buy.

Can I get opinions and advice?? On the flexibility to manage tunes, retrieve and playback different formats, wireless reception and lag associated with different formats or any other advice from those who are ahead of me on this great learning curve. I appreciate the help and thank you in advance !

Jim

·
Registered
131 Posts