AVS Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Noob here..hesitant about posting b4, but figured i'd get brave and do it anyway.

Basement is split in to 2 sides, the main side being 52x15..I basically split it in half and one end is the bar area the other is the theater area..I framed and and wired my self, with some occasional help from my brother-in-law..hired out drywall..tried hanging 2 sheets by myself, said, "nope, i don't want to screw this up!"

The theater area is approx 25x16. all speaker wire in-wall shield UL, etc etc.

components will be at rear in space next to furnace area. Wired for 7.x audio.

just purchased samsung 55" 9000 series which will hang on front wall..have older, low end surround speakers that will get upgraded.

Looking at the yamaha vx667 receiver..kind of undecided on speakers, but want in-walls for front at least. Not sure i can do in ceiling at the rear without losing sound quality.

·
Registered
116 Posts
Looks like it is coming along very nice. Minus the bar, it sounds very similar in concept and size to the room I just finished.

With the TV going on the wall, you might find that some floor or stand mounted speakers will work. My front and back speakers are all on stands and I don't feel like I'm losing much room beacause of it. In my approximately 12' x 22' room, we have enough room to comfortably seat seven on a sectional and chair even with the speakers taking up floor space.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
it's not shorter than any other standard basement..7ft ceilings with the exception of the ductwork. Just may look short due to the camera lens i was using at the time.

·
Registered
93 Posts
Looks great. Love the color. I have a similar size room and am leaning toward setting it up across rather than longways. Would love to see more pics.

·
Registered
195 Posts