AVS Forum banner
1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just got in a Rythmik 12" Servo Kit in the mail today, thought I'd start a build thread.

Building the down firing box the plans on Rythmik's site 15.5" (w) x 15.5" (d) x 24" (h). Nothing fancy. Just a satin black box.

I ordered a jasper jig for my router from parts-express to do the driver cutouts. Supposed to be here Monday-Tues. This weekend I will be cutting out the box (3/4" MDF) and get some of the frame put together and glued.

Will be posting pics sometime this weekend as I get work done.

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Got all the pieces cut out on Saturday. Today I screwed and glued the 4 main walls together. This is my first attempt at any sort of woodworking so of coarse the cuts aren't perfect. Needless to say I have alot of puttying to do in the near future.

One thing I learned was that I completly suck at cutting circles with a jigsaw freehand. My router jasper jig should be here in a couple of days for the driver cutout(not going to attempt that freehand).

Here are some photos

·
Registered
1,241 Posts
Looking good!..For the interior holes you can always use a 4 inch hole saw mated to your drill or if you have a drill press.Keep us posted.

·
Registered
3,995 Posts
Looks Great so far. Just a thought...since it's downfiring, why not make it functional as well by adding a Table top of Granite, Corian, Wood or whatever. The design is dense enough that anything placed on it wouldn't know the difference. I've got 2 end tables and a coffee table all with downfiring subs and unless i tell my guests, knowbodies the wiser.

·
Registered
5,828 Posts
Nice choice! Rythmik is well thought of. Looks like your coming along, it'll be fun following your Thread. If you make a boo-boo, take heart, we makem too. We get better at hiding them with time

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·

Quote:
Originally Posted by mayhem13 /forum/post/15529581