AVS Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1

Howdy! I am new around here and would be appreciative of any input or advice on speakers that will work best in my new space. I recently moved to a new home and would like to setup a nice 5.1 surround system in my great room. I am currently reading up on how centralized systems work because my ultimate goal is to just have a centralized system in a closet. However, I am pretty new to home audio and still learning a lot of new information. I have a solid basis in car audio and electronics in general, so I am learning quickly. I welcome any information, feedback, or ideas on speaker setups/brands/etc. that would sound best in my space. My initial thoughts are to go with towers and a center for the fronts and two in-wall speakers for the rear with a sub in the corner. I ordered a fully adjustable mount and I am planning on having the TV look like it is 'floating' in the space the TV sits now. I was thinking towers on either side and a high quality center channel underneath. What do y'all think? I want to spend no more than $1500 MAX including the subwoofer, but would be just as happy keeping my bill closer to $1,000 :) Below is my current space and setup. Thanks!

It is a very open room with a very tall vaulted ceiling.

Rear of room standing in front of TV:

Looking in from kitchen:

Front:

Rear:

Shot of ceiling/room from hallway:

Looking into kitchen from great room:

And P.S. there is usually a big rug on the floor in the great room in front of the couches.

·
Registered
16,705 Posts
If you know about car audio, then you know that the bigger the space, the more subwoofer output you need. Then consider that the interior of an SUV is no bigger than a walk-in closet, and imagine how much sub it takes to fill that space you have. What are the room dimensions, including the kitchen, since the sub will see all of that?