AVS Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok I have been hanging around here for a few months gathering information. I am an audiophile at heart and have music playing most of the time in some part of the house. I started out looking at digital pj's but quickly learned that this was not an avenue for me. While not sensitive to rainbows myself I would not want one of my friends to come over and get a headache while watching a movie. The screendoor issue with LCD is a big problem for me. It annoys me on my computer.

Not to start a big argument here but I seem to be leaning towards a Barco 801G. What kind of picture quality will I get? I will probably buy one that has been checked out by someone reputable...possibly Curt Palme, I recently got on his mailing list. Being a newbie what kind of headaches can I expect setting this thing up and getting it running? I plan to use it mainly for DVD and Direct TV At some point in the near future I want to use it for HDTV. I am on a limited budget being a single parent. Any input on this particular pj would be useful from someone that is using one.

Thanks

·
Registered
2,124 Posts
Panhead

My first PJ was a BG800 from Curt. It is very similar and maybe a small step down from the 801. The image was very good indeed. I had some small problems with video O/P boards but for the most part it was bulletproof. IMO the Barcos are very good first PJs because of thier modular design which allows easy replacement of parts without a lot of troubleshooting knowlege neccessary. Curt knows these PJs inside out and can troubleshoot MOST problems over the phone and his support is fantastic and indeed legendary on this forum.