AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
1,031 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to considering projectors at all, having just come over from direct-view CRTs. Over there, a big factor is whether or not a given HDTV or monitor supports various resolutions "natively". For example, practically all HDTV sets can't scan their electron guns across the screen more than 540 times per frame, so 720p support comes in the form of conversion to 1080i, instead of literally showing 720p with the gun scanning the screen 720 times. One reason I was looking into the Monivision CRT monitors is that they have true native support for a bunch of different resolutions, no converting necessary. This "multi-scan" ability is an advantage of monitors over TVs, even HDTVs, in the CRT universe.

But how does it work when you're dealing with a screen with a set number of pixels? 1:1 pixel mapping is apparently thought of as an advantage around here, but I can't imagine how it can work without original signals being converted to the screen's resolution if they don't already match it, since you don't have a "gun" scanning across the screen and it wouldn't do to hit fractions of pixels.

So, conversion is a good thing in the fixed-pixel world, even though it's said to degrade quality in the CRT world? And it's simply directly because of the physical traits of the things making the images? Or do I misunderstand the meanings of some terms here, such as that fixed pixels aren't really as fixed as they sound or something... and in that case, what is 1:1 pixel mapping, and does it conflict with "native" resolution display or not?

·
Registered
255 Posts
Delvo,