AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is my first projector. It has been operating fine during the setup. After finishing the setup and the Avia disk it shut down. What it does is cycles, starts to power up and shuts down immediatly, few seconds later same thing. to fast to get any code, I have reseated all the cards, except what I believe is the Video Out (w/heatsink). I would appreciate any ideas.

·
Registered
5,034 Posts
Welcome Forest, This is Troy... Glad you see you made it here, but sorry you have too under these circumstances.

Did you have a chance to turn down the h width pot on the board on top?

I may have some boards to send you if you are unable to find the problem, but from what I've seen dropping in replacements seems to come with it's own set of troubles sometimes. First I have to make sure the parts I have are all good, I'd hate to send you untested parts.

This pj was shipped upside down contrary to my this side up fragile markings on the box... He had this problem, he found that flexing the case made it go away when it was on the floor, we reseated some cards and then it was fine for a while and then the problem came back.

I'm wondering if perhaps it's being flexed by the mount on the ceiling causing a bad connection again. Either that or a loose solder joint somewhere.

Any other ideas guys?

Troy

·
Registered
1,027 Posts
forestr,

Are you seeing any picture on the tubes before it shuts down? If yes, did you happen to turn the SCREEN pots (the ones on the separate white block)? If they are too high the projector will cycle just as you describe. I had this problem a few weeks ago.

If you get no picture, do both RED LEDs go off on the H-Def board (the one that's hinged above the RED and GREEN CRTs)? If they don't both go out then you probably have a blown (shorted) Horizontal output transistor which is mounted on the heatsink near the middle (2SC4288a).

·