AVS Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hey guys, I got my HTiB about a month ago. I got the package like this:

Month in I am starting to be a beginner audiophile phobic. I'm no pro but seeking advice. Here are the specs:

Denon DHT-1513BA
**Total watts: 650 Watt 5.1
**Discrete Circuitry- five 75-watt channels is powered by its own discrete circuit. This allows the receiver to reproduce original sound.
**Supports Dolby, TrueHD and DTS-HD/MA.

Speaker system = Boston Acoustics MCS 160.

Satellite speaker Specs:
**Nominal Impedance: 8 ohms
**Frequency Response: 120 Hz - 20 kHz
**Sensitivity: 88dB [2.8v at 1m]
**Crossover Frequency: 3,000Hz
**Recommended Amplifier Power Range: 10 – 100 watts

Subwoofer specs:

**Frequency Response: 50 Hz - 170 Hz / 170Hz 24dB/octave lowpass
**100 watts RMS, (250 watts Peak); BassTrac® circuitry eliminates distortion.
**8" subwoofer
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Alright, so now that you know the ^original specs here are my questions.

1. I want to update my speaker wire but not sure if its needed. I'm sure the speaker wire that came with my HTiB is 18-16 AWG because it is very skinny! And has a soldered aluminum at each tip. See below:

I was wondering if I should go buy some either 12 AWG or 14 AWG speaker wire? The speakers in my room are not far, kind of like a gamer room but not too small. I would say TV and speakers are about

·
Registered
19,812 Posts
Mercy, Mercy - the audio life.:)

Set all your speakers to 120 hz crossover in the receiver

16 awg speaker cable will be fine for your needs

Depending on Monoprice shipping cost - look at Monoprice and Amazon for sub cable

Monoprice sub cable
http://www.monoprice.com/Category?c_id=102&cp_id=10236&cs_id=1023603

Belkin (from Amazon) sub cable here
http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_n...oofer+cable&rh=i:aps,k:belkin+subwoofer+cable