AVS Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've read through many of the threads here. They are very helpful and I appreciate everyone's input and expertise. I'm new to the whole audiophile thing but have hit the research pretty hard so I've been able to get a bit familiarized. My interest is about 80% HT and 20% music. I am considering doing an addition to my house that would include a home theater with some serious stuff, maybe up to 50K or more, but that is perhaps in 6 months or so. For the time being I have been putting together a setup in a "great" room with high ceilings. It includes the living room with tv in front, then dining area and kitchen and hallway behind, all very open. It is 10000+ cubic feet.

I started by buying 2 definitive tech STS towers as they were a great deal open box at BB, $1700 for both. Then online I purchased two def tech gem XL's for the rears and a def tech CS8080 for center. I also purchased online a new Pioneer Elite SC 67 and some 12 G speaker wire from monoprice.

I am in my subwoofer research stage now. The funny thing is that I have not even heard any of the subs but have been incurring vicarious excitement by reading online anything I can sink my eyes into.

I have a pretty big WAF influencing the situation. She does not want to see a sub sitting out, as the STS towers are already driving her crazy, though the towers are indeed slim, sleek, and sexy. Fortunately in this house we purchased recently, there is a large tv niche, under which there is a compartment bounded by cement all around except upper and front walls, where there is dry-wall. My intention is to put the sub in the compartment, and have a carpenter cut out the front and place cheese-cloth or some aesthetically acceptable surface through which sound travels easily.