AVS Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
1st post but long time reader,

I'm in the process of putting together another HTsys and I'm in need of a little direction and yes personal opinions on what to do for a sub. Here's a little about myself and what I'm looking for.

I have been playing bass guitar for 25 years. As you can imagine I'm very passionate about low frequencies and find great joy in chest rocking, rib rattling lows and equilibrium unbalancing LFE. I've worked as a finish and trim carpenter for 15 years and have the skill set and tools needed for a DIY if it fits my budget and gives me the results Im hoping for. At first this sub will be used on the second floor with a very open and complicated design setup. It flows from the seated listening area at one end (2200cu.ft.), a dormer 6'd x 12'w off of the main flow directly into an ajoining area (1100cu.ft.) with an open stairwell leading downstairs. This area has cathedral cielings with the peak at 8.5ft falling to varying hieghts along the parimeter of the room/s. The peak runs perpendicular to the viewing/listening area.

What I'm asking of you guys is what would you do in this situation with a $700 budget. Do I go with a pre-fab sub like Epik, HSU, SVS, maybe even Lava or do I/can I build something that gets me below 20hz? This sub will stay with me for a while and will be moved to larger more dedicated rooms in the future. I also will most definitely add to this sub sooner or later. This sub will be used for music but primarily for HT. So there you have it. I look forward to hearing from you all and if I missed anything that you may need ask away.

Steve

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Ok, so you feel it IS possible to manufacture a sub for $700 that will get me LFE that will perform better than the above pre-fab brands? I would love to have sustained 100+ db's that dont start rolling off around @30-24hz.

·
Registered
6,952 Posts
Quote: