AVS Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

· Registered
275 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is the best sight for reliable info I have found, so I am asking here. I read the sticky on building one,but it was Greek to me and may not be exactly what I want. While I am an expert on building media furniture, I am a beginning newbie on the PC end.

First of all, I want a regular PC case since it does not need to sit in a rack, but beside one, and big enough for at least 3 hard drives. Smaller ones just in case one dies. A dvd recorder drive and a bluray drive slot (to be filled later.) And a multi card reader. (Would it be better to get an external one?) And capable of remote control use. I have a universal 980. I want to record TV off my cable box (has HDMI) maybe put all my DVD and some Blu Ray's on the hard drive, or even better a second hard drive. (trying to clear up some room space. over 500 movies) I also want to put all my CD's on it, or dedicated drive, and be able to play them through my Bryston preamp. (has only coax and optical now, but future plans for an HDMI unit) I would like a nice case, not a cheap one, but not a $300.00 one. One with plenty of cooling. And most of all, a quiet fan for cooling. maybe 2.

I was thinking Intel this time around instead if AMD. (amd has worked OK for my older PC though.)

As for a sound card, well does that come into play if it is running through a preamp? Also I would like to access the INTERNET like any PC, and would like an easy media program to do this all with. I do not like Vista. (on my wifes laptop) I have XP pro right now. I was thinking maybe fire fox or something. Not that I know anything about the OS.

I was always in the habit of not buying cheap products because you will always regret it later. What I mean is, if one cpu is 150.00, and the same is 140.00 somewhere else, I would go for the cheaper one. I'm just a working guy that wants to stretch his money as far as he can like everyone else out there.