AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
88 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Sorry if I come off a lazy or ignorant on the subject, but that's what I get for being a rookie. I'm new to the HT arena and the vast majority of the research I've done in the past few months (as I waited for my HT-friendly house to be built) has been on projectors (went with the InFocus 4805 for now, and will likely upgrade next year), cables (had never heard of HDMI until a few months ago), etc. and I hadn't put much thought at all into the receiver I'll have in my HT room. The builder installed a 5.1 surround system in the room, with in-wall Klipsch speakers and a subwoofer, but they didn't throw in a receiver. So, can somebody give me a suggestion or two on which receiver to go with?

Here are the constraints/guidelines I'm trying to go with:

1. Don't overspend. That's nebulous because I'm willing to spend $500+ if absolutely necessary, but I'm comfortable with "above average" quality if I can get away with it for $200. Basically, I'm looking for the "bang for the buck" scenario, which is what I believe I'm getting with my InFocus projector.

2. As stated above, I'm prewired for 5.1. I have room in the HT for more speakers if need be, so I'm open to consider 2 floor- or wall-mounted speakers and a 7.1 system. I don't know if a 7.1-capable receiver is worth the extra $, though, so someone please help me with that one.

3. The room is roughly 19.5'x18.5'. I don't know how important that is, but people always seem to ask when it comes to audio questions.